Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries of Literary Themes, Symbols & Myths
Dictionary of Lliterary and Thematic Terms - Humanities Reference PN 44.5 .Q56 2006
Edward Quinn. New York: Facts on File, 2006
Cambridge Companion to Allegory - Humanities Reference PN 56 .A5 C35 2010
edited by Rita Copeland and Peter T. Struck. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2010.
Dictionary of Symbols - Humanities Reference GR 931 .C4413 1994
by Jean Chevalier and Alain Gheerbrant. Translated from the French by John Buchanan-Brown. Oxford: Blackwell, 1994.
Dictionary of Literary Symbols - Humanities Reference PN 56 .S9 F47 2007
Michael Ferber. 2nd edition. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Companion to Literary Myths, Heroes, and Archetypes - Humanities Reference PN 56 .M95 D4813 1992
Edited by Pierre Brunel. Translated from the French by Wendy Allatson, Judith Hayward, and Trista Selous. London: Routledge, 1992.
Periodical Article Indexes
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australia. Coverage: 1969-2002
Literature Criticism Online
Literary criticism essays covering all area of literature including including electronic version of writings found in Shakespearean Criticism print volumes.
Shakespearean Criticism : Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, From the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations - Humanities Reference PR 2965 .S43
A great source.Indexes are especially good: you can look up a theme, a motif, to learn where it's been treated in relation to a play, character, etc. Or, you can begin with a play, a specific character, and see the connections with theme and/or motif. Articles/essays (written by noteworthy, even famous critics/ contemporaries) are arranged in chronological order revealing trends in criticism over the life of the author/work. Full text.
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Consult these guides for more resources:
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorks The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Zotero A free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.