Useful websites
-
The Wind Repertory Project
The Wind Repertory Project™ is a comprehensive database of wind literature, expanded by contributions of band directors/conductors, students, and wind band enthusiasts worldwide. Here you will find detailed information on literature for winds, including program notes, instrumentation, errata, and much more.
-
How do woodwind instruments work? by A simplified introduction to the woodwind family and how they work. This page describes their different shapes and different types of excitation (air jet or reed) and how these give rise to some of their different behaviours. It gives links to more detailed pages about the acoustics of the individual instruments.
Featured books you can check out...
-
So You Want to Play the Clarinet
by
This new, expanded edition includes material for intermediate study - complex time signatures, faster rhythms, how to approach the altissimo register, and includes selected etudes.
Call Number: MT 385 .C67 S6 2008Publication Date: 2008 -
The Bassoon
by
ALA award winning book discusses the entire history of the bassoon, from its origins five centuries ago to its place in twenty-first-century music.
Call Number: ML 950 .K66 B37 2012ISBN: 9780300118292Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Wind Instrument Reference Books
-
Flute music of the 18th century
by
This is an annotated bibliography of works for the flute in instrumental combinations ranging from solo flute through more than ten instruments.
Call Number: ML 128 .F7 V46 1985 (Reference collection)ISBN: 2950064612Publication Date: 1985 -
Music for Oboe, Oboe d'Amore, and English Horn
by
A bibliography of materials at the Library of Congress.
Call Number: ML 128 .O2 G5 1983 (Reference collection)ISBN: 031323762XPublication Date: 1983-06-27 -
A Comprehensive Guide to the Saxophone Repertoire 1844-2003
by
Two volume set, covering works from 1844 through 2003.
Call Number: ML 128 .S247 L66 2003 (Reference collection)ISBN: 0939103079Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Video
Published on Mar 27, 2014
BYU Sax Quartet
Video
Jan 28, 2015
Egha Kusuma, percussion; Adrienne Tedjamulia Read: Graduate Recital April 2014
Brigham Young University
Performing Arts Librarian
Collections to browse
ML 128 .O2, ML 128 .F7, ML 128 .C58, ML 128 .S247 - Bibliographies for selected winds (Reference collection) -- others also in alphabetical order
ML 929-953 - Wind instruments - History and criticism (includes construction)
MT 339-415 - Instrumental technique and study of wind instruments