Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Utah Valley Youth Symphony "The purpose of the Utah Valley Youth Symphony Organization is to support aesthetic, social and intellectual development of our youth and community through music."
Featured items you can check out...
I used to play viola : an innovative method for adults returning to play by This book begins with a review of music theory, and exercises in scales and technique. This is followed by several tunes based on traditional and popular songs. With notes on the book and the author. The CD contains MP3 files of full performances and accompaniments, as well as PDF files of printable piano accompaniments.
Call Number: Piva #127
Publication Date: 2013
Double Bass Technique by Ideally suited for high school, middle school and young college-aged students, this video includes fundamental instruction, artistic demonstrations and considerable viewer participation in nine of the major technical areas of double bass playing: posture, bow hold, left hand finger action, tone production, smooth bow change, one and two octave scales, bowing patterns, shifting and thumb position.
Call Number: MT 320 .B72 D68 2008 DVD
String Instrument Reference Books
The Violin by A comprehensive research guide to the violin: its makers, players, and performance practices.
Call Number: ML 128 .V4 K37 2006 (Reference collection)
Publication Date: 2006-02-09
Cello Music since 1960 by A bibliography of solo, chamber & orchestral works for the solo cellist.
Call Number: ML 128 .V5 H66 1994 (Reference collection)
Publication Date: 1994
Great Music for String Orchestra by Intermediate and advanced repertoire highlighting 100 of the best compositions and arrangements in print. Annotated in detail: metric and key design, performance and program notes, alternate choices of music. Represents all styles of classical and popular music.
Call Number: ML 128 .S7 T36 2011 (Reference collection)
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Published on Aug 20, 2014
Eric Hansen (USA) - kontrabas
Ewa Warykiewicz (Polska/Niemcy) - fortepian
World Bass Festival 2014 Wrocław
Performing Arts Librarian
Collections to browse
ML 128 .S7, ML 128 .V4, ML 128 .V5 - Bibliographies for selected string instruments (Reference collection) -- others also in alphabetical order
ML 882-927 - String instruments - History and criticism (includes construction)
MT 259-338 - Instrumental technique and study of string instruments