This page is a work in progress; expect additions and improvements.
Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles on Anthropology
Other Relevant Databases
Databases for Finding Scholarship and Other Sources in Korean
Routledge Handbook of Korean Culture and Society by
The Routledge Handbook of Korean Culture and Society is an accessible and interdisciplinary resource that explores the formation and transformation of Korean culture and society. Each chapter provides a comprehensive and thought-provoking overview on key topics, including: compressed modernity, religion, educational migration, social class and inequality, popular culture, digitalisation, diasporic cultures and cosmopolitanism. These topics are thoroughly explored by an international team of Korea experts, who provide historical context, examine key issues and debates, and highlight emerging questions in order to set the research agenda for the near future. Providing an interdisciplinary overview of Korean culture and society, this Handbook is an essential read for undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well scholars in Korean Studies, Cultural Studies, Sociology, Anthropology, and Asian Studies in general.
Routledge Handbook of Contemporary South Korea by 
Routledge Handbook of Contemporary North Korea by 
Popular Culture and the Transformation of Japan-Korea Relations by
This book presents essays exploring the ways in which popular culture reflects and engenders ongoing changes in Japan-Korea relations. Through a broad temporal coverage from the colonial period to the contemporary, the book's chapters analyse the often contradictory roles that popular culture has played in either promoting or impeding nationalisms, regional conflict and reconciliations between Japan and Korea. Its contributors link several key areas of interest in East Asian Studies, including conflicts over historical memories and cultural production, grassroot challenges to state ideology, and the consequences of digital technology in Japan and South Korea. Taking recent discourse on Japan and South Korea as popular cultural superpowers further, this book expands its focus from mainstream entertainment media to the lived experience of daily life, in which sentiments and perceptions of the 'popular' are formed. It will be useful to students and scholars of Japanese and Korean studies, as well as film studies, media studies and cultural studies more widely.
One Anthropologist Two Worlds by
Unlike anthropologists who conduct their fieldwork in one cultural setting, Choong Soon Kim has alternated between two distinct worlds for more than thirty years. He is an anthropologist whose research has focused not only on people in his homeland of Korea but also on rural whites and African Americans in the American South and on American industrial workers and the Japanese entrepreneurs who employ them. One Anthropologist, Two Worlds is both the memoir of a fieldworker and a cultural analysis of a transplanted anthropologist who has worked extensively in Asia and America. In telling how he has shifted from one milieu to another, Kim also describes how he has gone from being an insider to an outsider--and from a marginal to a reflexive anthropologist. Kim's account is a unique case study in anthropological fieldwork. He develops a broadened approach to anthropology that encompasses both eastern and wesstern outlooks as he describes cultural changes in both worlds. He addresses such current debates as personal identity, marginality, globalization, and the reflexivity of anthropological fieldworkers, and he discusses these issues with greater insight that can be had from those who less traveled. While there have been many studies of fieldwork, few have dealt with work conducted in the United States by anthropologists from other cultures. One Anthropologist, Two Worlds is an ethnography of an ethnographer--the work of an insightful scholar who is a gifted storyteller. It is aslo a jubilant celebration of the practice of anthropology.
An Asian Frontier: American Anthropology and Korea 1882–1945 by
"In the nineteenth century the predominant focus of American anthropology centered on the native peoples of North America, and most anthropologists would argue that Korea during this period was hardly a cultural area of great anthropological interest. However, this perspective underestimates Korea as a significant object of concern for American anthropology during the period from 1882 to 1945--otherwise a turbulent, transitional period in Korea's history. An Asian Frontier focuses on the dialogue between the American anthropological tradition and Korea, from Korea's first treaty with the United States to the end of World War II, with the goal of rereading anthropology's history and theoretical development through its Pacific frontier. Drawing on notebooks and personal correspondence as well as publications of anthropologists of the day, Robert Oppenheim shows how and why Korea became an important object of study--with, for instance, more published about Korea in the pages of American Anthropologist before 1900 than would be for decades afterward. Oppenheim chronicles the actions of American collectors, Korean mediators, and metropolitan curators who first created Korean anthropological exhibitions for the public. He moves on to examine anthropologists--such as Ales Hrdlicka, Walter Hough, Stewart Culin, Frederick Starr, and Frank Hamilton Cushing--who fit Korea into frameworks of evolution, culture, and race even as they engaged questions of imperialism that were raised by Japan's colonization of the country. In tracing the development of American anthropology's understanding of Korea, Oppenheim discloses the legacy present in our ongoing understanding of Korea and of anthropology's past. "--
Korean Anthropology by
Korean anthropology holds a unique position in the field of anthropology, having first developed with native scholars studying native culture under the prevalent influence of cultural and social anthropology, rather than with the past Western practice of studying the others. This volume, Korean Anthropology: Contemporary Korean Culture in Flux, presents 30 original articles covering all aspects of Korean culture seen through the distinct viewpoints of various scholars. Intended to be an introductory yet comprehensive collection of readings on Korean culture, it will stimulate
Reading North Korea: An Ethnological Inquiry by
Often depicted as one of the world's most strictly isolationist and relentlessly authoritarian regimes, North Korea has remained terra incognita to foreign researchers as a site for anthropological fieldwork. Given the difficulty of gaining access to the country and its people, is it possible to examine the cultural logic and social dynamics of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea? In this innovative book, Sonia Ryang casts new light onto the study of North Korean culture and society by reading literary texts as sources of ethnographic data. Analyzing and interpreting the rituals and language embodied in a range of literary works published in the 1970s and 1980s, Ryang focuses critical attention on three central themes--love, war, and self--that reflect the nearly complete overlap of the personal, social, and political realms in North Korean society. The ideology embedded in these propagandistic works laid the cultural foundation for the nation as a "perpetual ritual state," where social structures and personal relations are suspended in tribute to Kim Il Sung, the political and spiritual leader who died in 1994 but lives eternally in the hearts of his people and still weaves the social fabric of present-day North Korea.
Sociolinguistics of the Korean Wave by 
The Making of Anthropology in East and Southeast Asia by
CHOICE OUTSTANDING BOOK OF THE YEAR 2005 Despite the growth of interest in the history of anthropology as a over the last two decades, surprisingly little has been published in English on the development of anthropology in East and Southeast Asia and its relationship to the rest of the academic "world-system." The anthropological experience in this region has been varied. Japanese anthropology developed early, and ranks second only to that of the United States in terms of size. Anthropology in China has finally recovered from the experience of invasion, war, and revolution, and now flourishes both on the mainland and in Taiwan. Scholars in Korea, Malaysia, and the Philippines have also attempted to break with the legacy of colonialism and develop research relevant to their own national needs. This book includes accounts of these developments by some of the most distinguished scholars in the region. Also discussed are issues of language, authorship, and audience; and the effects these have on writing by anthropologists, whether "native" or "foreign." The book will be invaluable to anyone with an interest in the anthropology of East and Southeast Asia or the development of anthropology as a global discipline.
Korean History DS 901–DS 937 (HBLL Level 1)
Korean Literature PL 991–PL 998 (HBLL Level 5)
Korean Social Conditions HN 730.5
Anthropology GN (Level 1)
Education LC (Level 1)
Family, Marriage and Women HQ (Level 1)
Recreation and Leisure GV (Level 1)
Religion BL (Level 2)
Buddhism BQ (Level 2)
Search Tip: Perform an "Advanced Search" in the Library Catalog. Change the search criteria to "Call Number" select "Begins With" and type in the to letter Library of Congress Code (GN, HQ, DS, etc.), then in the next line, type "Korea" leave the criteria set to "Any Field" and press enter.
* Remember:
(1) Don't forget to also try the "Available Online Tab" and then adjust the "Resource Type" at the left of the screen.
(2) Reference books are shelved separately.
(3) If you have trouble finding a book, speak with any help desk employee.
(4) All BYU Students have access to the Microsoft AI Tool "Copilot."
