Those who Browse the Stacks always discover additional research materials!
All books published in Asian languages are located on the 4th Floor in the Asian Collection.
English materials on Asian topics are located in different parts of the library as noted below.
If you have trouble finding a book ask the Asian Studies Librarian or inquire at any library help desk.
AC-AE Collections, Encyclopedias (1st Floor, Social Science Reference)
BL 1900 Daoism (2nd Floor, Religion & Family History Library)
BQ Buddhism (2nd Floor, Religion & Family History Library)
BR-BX Christianity (2nd Floor, Religion & Family History Library)
DS Asian History (1st Floor, Social Science Library)
DS 400-485 India
G 1019-2357 Maps
GR 335-340 Fables, Myths, Legends, Folklore (1st Floor, Social Science Library)
GR 342-GT Customs (1st Floor, Social Science Library)
GV 1100-1400 Martial arts, games
HC 427-470 Economic conditions
J Politics and Government (1st Floor, Central Stacks)
JZ 1730-1734 Chinese
JZ 1730-1734 Chinese
JZ 1745 Japanese
JZ 1748 Korean
N Arts & Crafts (5th Floor, North Stacks)
NB 1912 Buddhist Sculpture
ND 1060 Korean Art
PL Asian Languages and Literatures
PL 501-845 Japanese
PL 901-949 Korean
PL 1001-3300 Chinese
U Military science
BYU faculty and students currently have access to the following three databases until August 31 (click links to access; they should work from off campus with a BYU NetID):
DBpia: Academic Scholarship Database
KRpia: Primary Sources Database
Moazine: Popular Korean Magazines Database
A List of Useful Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles
Use the databases listed below to search for scholarly articles on your research topic. Hovering over the "info" icon will reveal detailed information about each database. For some very helpful tips on how to conduct a successful database search, click Here.
TIP: Use multiple databases when searching for articles related to your research project as each database has different coverage and unique features.
Subject Specific Databases
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present.
ProQuest Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Free access to the current issue of the New York Times is available to BYU students and faculty. You will need to create a free account using your @byu.edu email address. To access news about Korea, type "Korea" In the search box of the NYT hompage.
Kanopy partners with public libraries and universities to stream thoughtful entertainment to your preferred device with no fees and no commercials. Click the logo above and log in with your BYU NetID to enjoy Kanopy's diverse catalog with new titles added every month. You can search for films on Asian topics and in Asian languages.
ProQuest's Alexander Street is the world’s leading provider of academic streaming media to libraries. They have partnered with top video producers around the world to deliver more than 60,000 video titles across all disciplines. They are particularly strong in the fields of anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences. For video related to Asian Studies, click Here.
FRONTLINE produces works of investigative journalism that both question and explain complicated and controversial aspects of our modern world. Frontline has been one of American television’s top long-form news and current affairs series since 1983. They have won every major journalism and broadcasting award, including 91 Emmy Awards and 22 Peabody Awards. You can watch more than 200 documentaries online, for free, any time.
Extensive collection of streamable documentary video. Maintained by Infobase.