Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Korean Studies: Korean Language Study

A guide to resources for Korean Studies

Online Korean Language Study Applications

 

BYU subscribes to two very good programs for learning Korean (and numerous other languages) at your own speed. Click below to explore.

 

Mango is a language learning software database BYU students can use to supplement coursework, maintain and improve language skills, or learn a new language in ways that can be playful and fun. This includes language learning through movies, poetry and music. You can engage with the computer and improve pronunciation through speech-recognition software.


- With over 70 different languages from Arabic to Yiddish -
After connecting to the database using the link above, sign up for your own individual account.
Then log in, choose your level of language proficiency and conversational topic, and enjoy your language-learning experience!

Look for the option below the login boxes to explore the site as a guest.

You can explore the site as a guest or create a free account to save progress.

Type Korean into the "Pick a Language" box to see what resources are available.


You can also get a Mango APP for your handheld device.


Pronunciator Language Software

Pronunciator  is a language learning software database BYU students can use to supplement coursework, maintain and improve language skills, or just learn a new language in ways that can be playful and fun. This includes language learning (for the most common languages) through movies, poetry and music -- and a virtual tutor. You can engage with the computer and improve pronunciation through speech-recognition software.

 

With 80 different languages from Afrikaans to Welsh

Try it with "instant access" then type Korean in the "I want to learn _________." box.

 

After connecting to the database using the link above, sign up for your own individual account to save your progress, then log in, choose your level of language proficiency and conversational topic, and enjoy your language-learning experience!


Once you are a registered user, you can go directly to 
www.pronunciator.com

PLUS you can get a Pronunciator APP for your handheld device.

More Online Korean Language Lessons & Grammar Guides

There are a number of online Korean language study programs designed to enhance knowledge of the Korean language (at all levels from beginner to advanced). Click on the links below to explore.

 

Nuri-Sejong Hakdang (세종학당)

This site is funded by the Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism and run by International Korean Language Foundation. It offers tailored Korean language courses that cater to the needs of different audiences (general, married immigrants, foreign nationals working in Korea, etc) with different levels.

Korean Language Study on the Internet : KOSNET

Provides various Korean language learning services for educational institutions overseas. 

Let’s Learn Korean 

Korean Language Learning program provided by KBS World Radio.

Korean Language Course (Seoul National University)

Provides basic knowledge about Hangeul and Korean culture, as well as useful vocabulary, expressions, and conversational skills. The program is comprised of 20 chapters, and audio files and scripts are available for download.

Center for Korean Language and Culture  (Hankuk University of Foreign Studies)

Provides basic information on the Korean language (vowels and consonants), and word reading and conversation practice at the beginner level. The program contains simple word games and writing practice as well. The vocabulary list and scripts can be printed. The courses are available in Korean, English, Chinese, and Japanese.

The Korean Language Institute (Yonsei University)

The courses introduce basic knowledge of Hangeul (creation of Hangeul, characteristics, vowels and consonants, etc) and useful vocabulary and expressions for various situations. The program costs $100 per level and is available in English, Japanese, and Chinese.

Sogang Korean Program (서강대학교 한국어 강좌) Introductory, novice and intermediate online courses. Requires free registration.

Korean Learning for Correct Pronunciation (바른소리) Online Korean language education from the National Institute of the Korean Language

Online Intermediate College Korean (버클리대학 프로그램) Complete online course from UCal Berkeley.

Forvo.com Korean Pronunciation Audio clips of native speakers pronouncing more than 5,300 Korean words.

Learn Korean Net  A site for learning Korean online, includes tutorials and a student help forum

LP's Korean Language Learning

Talk to me in Korean Free audio and video lessons available for download

KOCW Let's Learn Korean 한국어학당

Learn Korean  Information on learning Korean language 

National Institute of Korean Language

Korean Language Education Center (Sogang University)

Offers courses on understanding Korean culture and the Korean language, including great variety of Korean texts such as letters of introduction, columns, articles, and more.

Fluent U Korean (requires subscription; 14-day free trial)

Korean Language Graded Readers

In addition to the 11,000+ Korean books shelved in the Asian Collection, the library has small separate collection designed to improve your reading ability in Korean. This collection, which is located in the Asian Reference section on the 4th floor, is divided into Beginning, Intermediate, and Advanced levels. The purple section on the map below notes the location of these reading materials. (Click on the map to enlarge.)

Online Korean Dictionaries