Subject Guides: Indigenous Studies (Latin America & Caribbean): Books & E-books

Places to look for books

Search engine for books, journals, articles, databases, and other electronic materials and information. The search box is at the top of the page. Carry out a simple keyword search or used the advanced search options for more refined and precise results. Alphabetic browsing available by Title, Subject headings, Call numbers, Genres, Journals, and Creators.

WorldCat

Can't find an item in BYU's catalog? Look in WorldCat! WorldCat allows you to search the collections of libraries around the world to find items you need. WorldCat is available as a standalone website or through the HBLL's list of databases.

Hint: By accessing WorldCat through the HBLL's web page, you can automatically see if BYU has an item that appears in your WorldCat search. This allows you to connect with the HBLL's Interlibrary Loan service with the click of a mouse and request the item you're looking for. If you're on campus you are automatically routed to BYU's version of WorldCat when you go to www.worldcat.org. If you're off campus you'll need to sign in using your BYU Net ID and password to get to BYU's version of WorldCat.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Once you identify books from other libraries, you can order them online, through Interlibrary Loan Services. Fill out an online request for the materials, and be sure to allow enough time for arrival. Physical books take about a week to arrive while electronic materials are available within a few days after your request. Please note that, in addition to books, you can also request Articles, Book Chapters, Media Items (videos, audio recordings, etc), Conference Papers, Theses & Dissertations, Microfilms, and Newspapers through ILL.

For helpful searching strategy tips, see the "General" tab.

Indigenous Language, Linguistics, and Literature at the HBLL

Interested in browsing for books on Indigenous Studies at the HBLL?

Here are the call numbers for subjects associated with Indigenous Studies:

1st Floor:

GN - Anthropology

CC - Archaeology

F 1201- 3799 - History of Latin America

5th Floor:

PM 3001- 4566 - Languages of Mexico and Central America

PM 5001-7356 - Languages of South America and the West Indies

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PQDT Global connects scholarship from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries, diverse voices, ideas, and perspectives can be viewed within a singular global context. : Each full text dissertation and thesis in PQDT is fully searchable providing an unparalleled resource for text and data mining analysis making connections that generate new insights.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies
CRL's Foreign Dissertations Database (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new window
Through this growing database, the Center for Research Libraries provides access to over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations from more than 90 countries and over 1200 institutions. Search by author, title, institution name, the year the dissertation was defended, language, subject/keywords, and/or translated title.