Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Formerly International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text access is available to over 490 titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.
Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi)This link opens in a new windowThe DELRdi is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the research documented in the index. Research is considered relevant for inclusion in the DELRdi if it addresses or can be applied to specified Education Issues, Populations Served by dance education, or Areas of Service specific to teaching and learning dance.
How to use the Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index.
Gale Fine Arts & Music CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
ERIC (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1975+ SPORTDiscus is a unique resource for both practical and research literature on sports, physical fitness and physical education topics. Records cover sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and research literature for the social and psychological aspects of sport and leisure, including play, games and dance.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR has created a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats, inlcuding 62 music journals.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowProject MUSE offers full text, affordable access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowRILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Coverage begins with publications from 1967 and continues through the present.
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search™ Premier contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. About 30 of these are academic music journals.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Full text for more than 1,450 journals, high-quality indexing and in-depth abstracts for thousands of journals, and indexing for hundreds of thousands of articles.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
Google Scholar Search
Searches the web for scholarly articles.
Using google scholar from home:
Log in with Net ID / password
Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4 Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm