Advancing Nonprofit Stewardship Through Self-Regulation by 
Applied Public Relations by
With its practical orientation and scope, "Applied Public Relations" is the ideal text for any public relations case studies or public relations management course that places an emphasis on stakeholder groups.
Through the presentation of current cases covering a wide variety of industries, locations, and settings, Kathy Richardson and Marcie Hinton examine how real organizations develop and maintain their relationships, offering valuable insights into business and organizational management practices. The book s organization of case studies allows instructors to use the text in several ways: instructors can focus on specific stakeholders by using the chapters presented; they can focus on particular issues, such as labor relations or crisis management by selecting cases from within several chapters; or they can select cases that contrast campaigns with ongoing programs or managerial behaviors.
A focus on ethics and social responsibility underlies the book, and students are challenged to assess the effectiveness of the practices outlined and understand the ethical implications of those choices.
This Third Edition features:
25 new and current domestic and international case studies specifically chosen for their relevancy and relatability to students
New "Professional Insights" commentaries where practitioners respond to a set of questions relating to their work
Increased emphasis on ethics and social responsibility
Fully enhanced companion website that is connected with the text, including a test bank and PowerPoint presentations for instructors, and chapter-specific discussion questions and additional readings for students "
The Behavioral Foundations of Public Policy by
In recent years, remarkable progress has been made in behavioral research on a wide variety of topics, from behavioral finance, labor contracts, philanthropy, and the analysis of savings and poverty, to eyewitness identification and sentencing decisions, racism, sexism, health behaviors, and voting. Research findings have often been strikingly counterintuitive, with serious implications for public policymaking. In this book, leading experts in psychology, decision research, policy analysis, economics, political science, law, medicine, and philosophy explore major trends, principles, and general insights about human behavior in policy-relevant settings. Their work provides a deeper understanding of the many drivers--cognitive, social, perceptual, motivational, and emotional--that guide behaviors in everyday settings. They give depth and insight into the methods of behavioral research, and highlight how this knowledge might influence the implementation of public policy for the improvement of society.
This collection examines the policy relevance of behavioral science to our social and political lives, to issues ranging from health, environment, and nutrition, to dispute resolution, implicit racism, and false convictions. The book illuminates the relationship between behavioral findings and economic analyses, and calls attention to what policymakers might learn from this vast body of groundbreaking work.
Wide-ranging investigation into people's motivations, abilities, attitudes, and perceptions finds that they differ in profound ways from what is typically assumed. The result is that public policy acquires even greater significance, since rather than merely facilitating the conduct of human affairs, policy actually shapes their trajectory.
The first interdisciplinary look at behaviorally informed policymaking Leading behavioral experts across the social sciences consider important policy problems A compendium of behavioral findings and their application to relevant policy domains
Engaging Government Employees by
You know firsthand that your government workers are not underworked, overpaid, or mindless clones just carrying out the morally compromised work that politicians forced through the pipeline. You are quite aware that these and other common stereotypes of public sector employees don't apply to your team... but are they?Besides having to daily overcome the persona of being a government employee, your hard-working employees face enormous pressures and challenges every day and are asked to solve some of our country's toughest problems, including unemployment, security, poverty, and education. To be able to return to their desks each and every day with the passion and commitment required to accomplish these overwhelming duties will require a manager who knows how to leverage talent, improve performance, and inspire passion within these true servants.In Engaging Government Employees, Bob Lavigna--with over three decades of experience in public sector HR-- gives managers the tools they need to leverage the talents of government's most important resource: its people. Readers will learn:• Why a highly engaged staff is 20 percent more productive • How to get employees to deliver “discretionary effort” • How to assess the level of engagement • Why free pizza and Coke every Friday is not a viable strategy • And moreEngaging Government Employees rejects the typical one-size-fits-all approach to motivation. Drawing on a wealth of empirical evidence, this indispensable resource shows how America's largest employer can apply the science of engagement to get team members passionate about the agency's mission and committed to its success.
Motivating Public Employees by
What motivates public employees to work hard? This Element systematically reviews answers from public administration research. The authors locate this research in a novel two-dimensional typology, which shows that public employees can be motivated for other- and self-interested reasons and extrinsic (motivated by outcomes) and intrinsic (motivated by work itself) reasons. Public administration research sheds significant light on extrinsic motivators: working hard to help society (public service motivation), one's organization (organizational commitment) and oneself (financial incentives). Future research should focus on hitherto understudied motivators: symbolic rewards and intrinsic motivators, such as enjoyable work tasks, warm glow, and relatedness with colleagues. Supplementary material for this Element is available online.
Public Administration Evolving From Foundations to the Future by 
Strategic Management and Public Service Performance by 
Visual Strategy by
Strategic planning becomes visual with strategy maps and the tools, techniques, and guidance for turning them into effective action.
Developed as a companion workbook to John Bryson's best-selling Strategic Planning in Public and Nonprofit Organizations , Visual Strategy: A Workbook for Strategy Mapping in Public and Nonprofit Organizations , goes beyond making the case for good and effective strategic planning to making strategy visual through effective strategy mapping. Strategy mapping prevents groups of people from talking over one another and going around in circles. It helps people speak and be heard, produce lots of ideas and understand how they fit together, make use of causal reasoning, and clarify ultimately what they want to do in terms of mission, goals, strategies, and actions. Strategy mapping can join process and content in such a way that good ideas worth implementing are found and the agreements and comments needed to implement them are reached. The result is living strategic plans that act as useful guides to action.
With detailed examples, actual strategy maps, process guidelines and hand-drawn illustrations, the book will help leaders, managers, students and other professionals see patterns across mission, goals, strategies and actions while helping to identify areas of alignment and misalignment and determine, real time, where elements are needed, missing or not useful in a strategic plan.
For leaders and managers of public and nonprofit organizations, facilitators and consultants, professors and students of strategic planning, strategic management, strategic mapping, and public policy, professional development workshops focused on strategic planning and strategy mapping.
Biographical Dictionary of Public Administration by 
Elgar Encyclopedia of Public Management by
This comprehensive Encyclopedia is an essential reference text for students, scholars, and practitioners in public management. Offering a broad and intercultural perspective on public management as a field of practice and science, it covers all the most relevant and contemporary terms and concepts. Organized into six thematic sections for ease of reference, the Encyclopedia comprises 78 entries written by nearly 100 leading international scholars. Entries provide a concise and accessible overview of key ideas and highlight current issues and emerging areas of study. This Encyclopedia will be an essential resource for students and scholars of public management as a starting point for research. It will also be helpful for practitioners looking for a deeper understanding of their everyday work and explanations of terms used by consultants and scholars. Key Features: Over 70 entries. Accessible explanations of critical concepts Cross-referenced to facilitate further reading organized into thematic sections for ease of reference
The Handbook of Public Sector Communication by
A multidisciplinary collection on global public entity strategic communication Research into public sector communication investigates the interaction between public and governmental entities and citizens within their sphere of influence. Today's public sector organizations are operating in environments where people receive their information from multiple sources. Although modern research demonstrates the immense impact public entities have on democracy and societal welfare, communication in this context is often overlooked. Public sector organizations need to develop "communicative intelligence" in balancing their institutional agendas and aims of public engagement. The Handbook of Public Sector Communication is the first comprehensive volume to explore the field. This timely, innovative volume examines the societal role, environment, goals, practices, and development of public sector strategic communication. International in scope, this handbook describes and analyzes the contexts, policies, issues, and questions that shape public sector communication. An interdisciplinary team of leading experts discusses diverse subjects of rising importance to public sector, government, and political communication. Topics include social exchange relationships, crisis communication, citizen expectations, measuring and evaluating media, diversity and inclusion, and more. Providing current research and global perspectives, this important resource: Addresses the questions public sector communicators face today Summarizes the current state of public sector communication worldwide Clarifies contemporary trends and practices including mediatization, citizen engagement, and change and expectation management Addresses global challenges and crises such as corruption and bureaucratic roadblocks Provides a framework for measuring communication effectiveness Requiring minimal prior knowledge of the field, The Handbook of Public Sector Communication is a valuable tool for academics, students, and practitioners in areas of public administration, public management, political communication, strategic and organizational communication, and related fields such as political science, sociology, marketing, journalism, and globalization studies.
Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration by 
International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration Volume 1 by
This is the first volume of a four-volume encyclopaedia which combines public administration and policy and contains approximately 900 articles by over 300 specialists. This Volume covers entries from A to C. It covers all of the core concepts, terms and processes of applied behavioural science, budgeting, and comparative public administration. Library has a subscription to all 4 volumes
The Public Administration Theory Primer by
Introduction: the possibilities of theory -- Theories of political control of bureaucracy -- Theories of bureaucratic politics -- Public institutional theory -- Theories of public management -- Postmodern theory -- Decision theory -- Rational choice theory and irrational behavior -- Theories of governance -- A bright future for theory.
