Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Museum of the City of New York is pleased to announce that over 400 scripts, scores, and sheet music by George M. Cohan (1878-1942) are now freely available online through the Museum’s Collections Portal. View the Collection
Classical Scores Library (ASP)
Classical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
The Petrucci Music Library's goal is to create a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music without charge.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
Early Music Online
Early Music Online has digitised over 320 volumes of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, from holdings at the British Library.
The Digital Mozart Edition provides access to the complete works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in digital form for study and performance. Use of the website, including the downloading of files and printing for non-commercial purposes, is free. The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, edited by the Internationale Stiftung Mozart.
Chopin Early Editions
The University of Chicago Library makes avaialble over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin, maintained in the Special Collections Research Center.
Include digital reproductions of more than 500 score autographs, letters and life documents by Franz Schubert from the manuscript collection of the Wienbibliothek im Rathaus (Viennese City Library). It is planned to extend the database in co-operation with other collections.
The Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa
Volume 1, released on April 6, 2015, contains Sousa's first 17 marches, covering the years 1873 to 1882. Volume 2, released on April 11, 2016, contains 18 marches, spanning the years 1883 to 1889, when Sousa was Director of the Marine Band. Volume 3, released Dec. 12, 2016, includes 20 marches Sousa composed from 1889-98.
Digital Scores and Libretti / Harvard University
First and early editions and manuscript copies of music from the 18th and early 19th centuries by J.S. Bach and Bach family members, Mozart, Schubert and others. Multiple versions of 19th century opera scores, seminal works of musical modernism, and music of the Second Viennese School.
Carl Nielsen Edition
Music scores of all Carl Nielsen's works are available. Also find introductions to his works and see what manuscript and printed sources are extant.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music
Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
Archive of Popular American Music at UCLA
A research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present. It contains almost 450,000 pieces of sheet music, anthologies, and arrangements for band and orchestra, and 62,500 recordings on disc, tape, and cylinder. Music for the theater, motion pictures, radio and television, as well as general popular music, country, rhythm and blues, and rock songs.
The Séamus Connolly Collection of Irish Music
This digital collection features traditional tunes and songs collected by master fiddle player Séamus Connolly.
Choral Public Domain Library
Here you will find over 28,000 free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
American Choral Music
This is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the Choral Directors Association (ACDA). Its purpose is to present music in the public domain, available for users to download.
Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
Browse over 30,000 pieces of American popular music, dating as far back as 1780. (Johns Hopkins University)
IN Harmony: Sheet music from Indiana
Features Indiana-related sheet music - sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state.
Historic American Sheet Music
Duke University's collection of 3042 pieces published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Sheet music, programmes from historical and contemporary concerts, operas and ballet performances, books and journals on music, as well as libretti can be found at the SLUB Dresden. Also musicians’ letters, recordings, and images pertaining to music history from the Deutsche Fotothek.
Digitized scores from Eastman School of Music
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
The Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive
Selected works from the Music and Theatre Collection of the Royal Library: both manuscripts and printed music have been included. Some are published expressly for printing, others are primarily intended for study.
Complete scores of Chiquinha Gonzaga
Gonzaga was a composer, pianist and the first female conductor in Brazil. This database contains about 300 of her works.
Mike Barone free band charts
PDFs of parts, NO SCORES. Copies may not be perfect by today's standards but all are very readable. Most have conductor parts
Hal Crook, Berklee
Play-along tracks and lead sheets from Hal Crook.
Partify your scores
Click on the "Partifi" logo at the top of the page. Use IMSLP17698 as a sample to see how Partifi works!