An online thematic catalogue of all compositions attributed to Girolamo Frescobaldi (Ferrara, 1583 – Rome, 1643), and a database of the early sources, modern and facsimile editions, and literature.
Digital Resources for MusicologyThis website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists in the following categories:
1. Digitized music manuscripts
2. Digital score reprints
3. Repertory and genre based projects
4. Structured databases
5. Portals and search engines for music
6. Resources for music theory
7. Historical Audio and video
8. Historical maps
9. Early newspapers
10. Music magazines
11. Large Humanities text corpora
12. Image banks
All Music GuideThe AMG editorial staff, along with hundreds of expert contributors, has made allmusic one of the most comprehensive music reference source on the planet. All genres and styles of music are covered here, ranging from the most commercially popular to the most obscure, but with better coverage of popular music genres. AMG critiques albums and artists within the context of their own genres - from opera to garage rock to traditional country.
MusicBrainzMusicBrainz is an open music encyclopedia that collects music metadata and makes it available to the public. MusicBrainz collects a vast amount of music metadata, far more than the traditional artist/album/track model. All of the data in MusicBrainz is contributed to, and maintained by, its users - who follow community written style guidelines when editing to help ensure a standard of quality.
Musicians' NecrologyThe Gaylord Music Library at Washington University has maintained this list of death notices for musicians, music educators, composers, and others associated with music professions. Since death notices often contain conflicting dates, ages, and name forms, all are reported. Alternate name spellings are listed in square brackets. Citations follow the data they have provided.
NAFME: The National Association for Music EducationNAFME (formelyMENC) among the world's largest arts education organizations, marked its centennial in 2007 as the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. Through membership of more than 75,000 active, retired, and preservice music teachers, and with 60,000 honor students and supporters, MENC serves millions of students nationwide through activities at all teaching levels, from preschool to graduate school.
Hofmeister XIXHofmeister XIX is an on-line, searchable version of the Hofmeister Monatsberichte for the years 1829-1900. Containing some 330,000 records of music publications, it is the most extensive resource for establishing what was published where and when during that period. Records are linked to facsimile images of the Monatsberichte on the Österreichische Nationalbibliothek (Austrian National Library) website.
The Lied, Art Song, and Choral Texts PageThe Lied, Art Song, and Choral Texts Page is an archive of texts used in 93,394 Lieder and other classical art songs (Kunstlieder, mélodies, canzoni, романсы, canciones, liederen, canções, sånger, laulua, písně, piosenki, etc.) as well as in many choral works and other types of classical vocal pieces. The collection currently indexes 58,576 texts and includes 11,920 translations to English, French, Italian, Dutch, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese, and others. The site has freque
Music Treasures Consortium (LoC)The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship. Researchers can search or browse materials, access metadata about each item, and view digital images of the treasure via each custodial archive's Web site. The consortial collection will grow as members add more materials.
Irish Traditional Music ArchiveThe Irish Traditional Music Archive – Taisce Cheol Dúchais Éireann – is a national reference archive and resource centre for the traditional song, instrumental music and dance of Ireland. The Archive is the first body to be exclusively concerned with the making of a comprehensive multimedia collection of materials – sound recordings, books and serials, sheet music and ballad sheets, photographs, videos and DVDs, etc. – for the appreciation and study of Irish traditional music.
Music Copyright Infringement ResourceThe purpose of this project is to make universally available information about U.S. music copyright infringement cases from the mid-nineteenth century forward.
New Music BoxNewMusicBox, a multimedia publication from New Music USA, is dedicated to the music of American composers and improvisers and their champions.
NewMusicBox offers: in-depth profiles, articles, and discussions; up-to-the-minute industry news and commentary; a direct portal to our internet radio station, Counterstream; and access to an online library of more than 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers.
ThemefinderThemefinder is a non-profit collaborative project of the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities (CCARH) at Stanford University and the Cognitive and Systematic Musicology Laboratory at the Ohio State University.
Get Help
Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4 Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Frescobaldi Thematic Catalog Online