Case Research in Public Management by
Highly readable and non-technical, this handbook is designed to help students and non-profit managers gain a working knowledge of the principles and practices of conducting qualitative case study research in public organizations. This book is a motherload of practical and comprehensive guidance to planning, conducting, analyzing, and reporting case research project findings. McNabb begins with a detailed rationale for the use of the case research approach in public administration, non-profit organizations, and political science. Then it provides step-by-step instructions on how to conduct single-case, multicase, and meta-analysis research, with guidelines on organizing and writing the case report. Case Research in Public Management also includes many examples of case studies in a wide range of important topics in public administration, including performance management, sustainable government, technology management, security issues, emergency and disaster management, social and health services, infrastructure, public transportation, and transforming the work of government
Global Public Management by
Global Public Management offers a collection of cases illustrating managerial problems and policy situations that managers could face anywhere in the world. These cases are then analyzed by universal scholars and practitioners of public management. The case comments focus on identifying the problem in the case and offering suggestions on how to handle the conflict
Public Administration by 
The Public Manager Case Book by
The Public Manager Case Book is a collection of eight public administration cases that allows students to practice the decision-making skills they will need in their jobs as public managers. Each case focuses on the local administrative issues managers most often face in their day-to-day responsibilities, and each encourages students to collaborate with others in order to gain the necessary cooperation and information. The cases are multi-dimensional and challenge students and professors to draw from a variety of knowledge areas to develop alternative recommendations, decisions, or actions.
Scenarios in Public Administration by
Scenarios in Public Administration focuses on the broad topics of leadership, human relationship management, technical, administrative, and political concepts for students of public administration. There are many individuals who have the technical proficiencies and are administratively competent, but they do not possess the political skills needed to succeed. Political influence is frequently learned on the job, and the process is a long one. By adding the political element, this work goes beyond the normal coursework taught in MPA and related programs. This collection can be used throughout the MPA program in a number of courses, including Public Policy Analysis, Personal Administration, and Seminar of Public Administration.
Doing more with less Measuring, analyzing and improving performance in the not-for-profit and government sector Online by
Written in an accessible and practical style, Doing More With Less 2nd edition addresses the efficiency drive using models, tools, and ideas more commonly found in the corporate world. This fully updated edition also includes case studies from Audit Scotland, Belfast City Council, FBI, NHS, Ministry of Works (Bahrain), and many more.
Public Innovation Through Collaboration and Design by
While innovation has long been a major topic of research and scholarly interest for the private sector, it is still an emerging theme in the field of public management. While ‘results-oriented'public management may be here to stay, scholars and practitioners are now shifting their attention to the process of management and to how the public sector can create ‘value'. One of the urgent needs addressed by this book is a better specification of the institutional and political requirements for sustaining a robust vision of public innovation, through the key dimensions of collaboration, creative problem-solving, and design. This book brings together empirical studies drawn from Europe, the USA and the antipodes to show how these dimensions are important features of public sector innovation in many Western democracies with different conditions and traditions. This volume provides insights for practitioners who are interested in developing an innovation strategy for their city, agency, or administration and will be essential reading for scholars, practitioners and students in the field of public policy and public administration.
More with Less by
Public sector organizations are about to enter one of the most challenging environments they have ever had to face as they bear much of the cost of the credit crunch. This timely book shows public sector leaders what they need to understand in order to be able to cope with these challenges.
Engaging Public Sector Clients by
Exploring three rich cases across three countries, this book shows how government organizations need their clients to contribute time and effort to co-producing public services, and how organizations can better elicit this work from them, by providing good client service and appealing to their intrinsic needs and social values.
Good governance practices for the protection of human Rights by
Good governance and the advancement of human rights go hand in hand, as practical examples documented in a newly released publication by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) illustrate.