Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Edward M. Rowe Collection of William Wordsworth: Early Editions: Poetry

Featured Edition


Title page of the first edition of The Prelude (1850).

First editions and early editions

Poems, by Francis Wrangham. London: Sold by J. Mawman, 1795.
Note: Includes a 45-line translation by Wordsworth of a French poem by Wrangham.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5899 .W65 P6 1795

Lyrical Ballads, with a Few Other Poems.  1st edition, 2nd issue.  London  Printed for J. & A. Arch, Gracechurch-street, 1798.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection PR 5869 .L9 1798

 Lyrical Ballads, with Other Poems.  2nd edition.  London: Printed for T.N. Longman and O. Rees, Paternoster-Row, by Biggs and Co. Bristol, 1800.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 L995 1800 v. 1-2

Lyrical Ballads, with Pastoral and Other Poems, in Two Volumes.  3rd edition.  London: Printed for T.N. Longman and O. Rees, by Biggs and Cottle, 1802.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 L995 1802

Lyrical Ballads, with Pastoral and Other Poems, in Two Volumes.  4th edition.  London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, and Orme, by R. Taylor and Co., 1805.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 L995 5 v. 1-2

Poems, in Two Volumes.  London: Printed for Longan, Hurst, Ress, and Orme, 1807.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 P751 1807 v. 1-2

The Excursion, Being a Portion of The Recluse, A Poem.  London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1814.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 Ex27 1814

The White Doe of Rylstone; or The Fate of the Nortons: A Poem.  London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown … by J. Ballantyne and Co., Edinburgh, 1815.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection Quarto 821.713 W582 1815

Poems (1815).  London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme and Brown, 1815.
Note: Three of the poems, “Address to a child,” “The mother’s return,” and “The cottager to the infant,” are by Dorothy Wordsworth.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 P752 1815 v. 1-2

Thanksgiving Ode, January 18, 1816: With Other Short Pieces, Chiefly Referring to Recent Public Events London: Printed by Thomas Davison, for Longman, Hurst, Orme, and Brown, 1816.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 T329 1816

Peter Bell, a Tale in Verse.  London: Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1819.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 P442 1819

The Waggoner, A Poem: To Which Are Added, Sonnets.  London: Printed  for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1819.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 W124 1819

The River Duddon: a Series of Sonnets: Vaudracour and Julia: and Other Poems; To Which Is Annexed, a Topographical Description of the Country of the Lakes, in the North of England.  London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1820.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 R524 1820

The Miscellaneous Poems of William Wordsworth; In four Volumes.  London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1820.

               Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 M681 1820 vol.1-4. 

Ecclesiastical Sketches.  London  Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, Paternoster-Row, 1822.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 Ec28 1822

Memorials of a Tour on the Continent, 1820.  London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1822.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5862 .A1 1822

A Collection of Poems, Chiefly Manuscript, and from Living Authors. Edited by Joanna Baillie.  London: Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1823.
Note: Two sonnets by Wordsworth, "Not Love, not War, nor the tumultuous swell," and "A volant Tribe of Bards on earth are found," were first printed in this volume; both went through much revision later. 

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 1221 .B3 1823

The Poetical Works of William Wordsworth: Complete in One Volume (pirated edition).  Paris: A. and W. Galignani, 1828.
Note: Mounted in rear of book is a manuscript letter from William Wordsworth to Harriet Martineau concerning drawing of Rydal Lake and another letter from Martineau to Miss Carpenter, the artist of the sketch.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 P75 1828

The Keepsake for MDCCCXXIX.  Edited by Frederic Mansel Reynolds.  London: Published for the proprietor, by Hurst, Chance, and Co., and R. Jennings, 1829.
Note: Contains the first printing of five poems by William Wordsworth: "The Gleaner," "The Triad," "The Wishing Gate," and two sonnets. 

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 1143 .K44 1829 

Selections from the Poems of William Wordsworth, Esq.; Chiefly for the Use of Schools and Young Persons.  London: Edward Moxon, 1831

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5852 .H5 1831

The Poetical Works of William Wordsworth; A New Edition; In Four Volumes.  London: Printed for Longman, Rees, Orme, Brown, Green & Longman, 1832.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5850 .E32 1832 vol.1-4

Yarrow Revisited, and Other Poems.  London: Longman, Rees, Orme, Brown, Green & Longman and Edward Moxon, 1835.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5869 .Y3 1835

The Poetical Works of William Wordsworth; A New Edition; In Six Volumes.  London: Edward Moxon, 1836-1837.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5850 .E36b 1836 vol.1-6

The Sonnets of William Wordsworth; Collected in One Volume; With a Few Additional Ones, Now First Published.  London: Edward Moxon, 1838.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5866 .A1 1838

Poems, Chiefly of Early and Late Years; Including The Borderers, A Tragedy.  London: Edward Moxon, 1842.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5852 1842

Select Pieces from the Poems of William Wordsworth.  London: Edward Moxon, 1843.

  •  Call Number: PR 5852 .M93 1847 

The Poems of William Wordsworth, D.C.L., Poet Laureate, etc.  London: E. Moxon, 1845.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5852 1845

Ode, Performed in the Senate-House, Cambridge, on the Sixth of July, M.DCCC.XLVII; At the First Commencement after the Installation of His Royal Highness the Prince Albert, Chancellor of the University of Cambridge.  London: George Bell, 1847.

  • Call Number: Vault Collection 821.713 Od2 1847

The Poetical Works of William Wordsworth, D.C.L., Poet Laureate, etc. etc. In Six Volumes.  London: E. Moxon, 1849-1850. 

  •  Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5850 .E49 1849 vol.1-6

The Prelude, or Growth of a Poet’s Mind; an Autobiographical Poem.  London: Edward Moxon, 1850.

  • Call Number: Rowe Collection PR 5864 .A1 1850

The Prelude; or, Growth of a Poet’s Mind; an Autobiographical Poem.  New York: D. Appleton & Company; Philadelphia: Geo. S. Appleton, 1850.
Note: This is the first American edition of The Prelude

  • Call Number: PR 5864 .A1 1850 no.2

The Recluse. London; New York: Macmillan and Co., 1888.

  • Call Number: PR 5869 .R4 1888

Curator

Maggie Kopp's picture
Maggie Kopp
Contact:
I am offering virtual consultations while L. Tom Perry Special Collections is closed due to COVID-19. Please contact me via email, the appointment scheduling link, or voicemail.
(801) 422-6276

Visit Special Collections