Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Edward M. Rowe Collection of William Wordsworth: Dorothy Wordsworth

About Dorothy Wordsworth

Dorothy Wordsworth (1771–1855), William's sister, had a close relationship with her brother and was an important member of his creative circle. Dorothy collaborated with her brother and was herslef a poet, though she is best remembered for her journals and correspondence.

New resources in Special Collections

Journals and Correspondence

The Grasmere and Alfoxden journals.  Edited by Paula Woolf.  Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.

    Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .A8 2002

Journals of Dorothy Wordsworth.  Edited by E. De Selincourt. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, 1970.

    Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .A8 1970 vol.1-2

Letters of Dorothy Wordsworth: a selection.  Edited by Alan G. Hill. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1985.

    Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .A85 1985

Biographies and Criticism

Gittings, Robert, and Jo Manton.  Dorothy Wordsworth.  Clarendon Press, 1985.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .G57 1985

Gunn, Elizabeth.  A passion for the particular: Dorothy Wordsworth, a portrait. Gollancz, 1981.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .G8 1981

Healey, Nicola.  Dorothy Wordsworth and Hartley Coleridge: the poetics of relationship. Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .H43 2012

Maclean, Catherine Macdonald.  Dorothy and William Wordsworth.  Cambridge University Press, 1927.
Note: Presentation copy to Edward M. Rowe.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5881 .M3 1927

Wilson, Frances. The ballad of Dorothy Wordsworth. Faber and Faber, 2008.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .W55x 2008

Cervelli, Kenneth R.  Dorothy Wordsworth’s ecology. Routledge, 2007.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .C47 2007

Levin, Susan M.  Dorothy Wordsworth & romanticism.  Revised edition.  McFarland & Co., 2009.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .L48 2009

Smith, Ken Edward.  Dorothy Wordsworth and the profession of authorship: a critical commentary on her letters, journals, life writing, and poetry.  The Edwin Mellen Press, 2011.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .S65 2011

Woof, Pamela. Dorothy Wordsworth: wonders of the everyday. Wordsworth Trust, 2013.

  • Call number: Rowe Collection PR 5849 .W66 2013

Curator

Maggie Kopp's picture
Maggie Kopp
Contact:
I am offering virtual consultations while L. Tom Perry Special Collections is closed due to COVID-19. Please contact me via email, the appointment scheduling link, or voicemail.
(801) 422-6276