Focuses on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present. Contains 5,000+ entries on Mormonism.
The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) acts to preserve quantitative data on American religion, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files. Contains 2000 census data on Mormonism and other studies conducted on American religion.
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues from 1949 to the present. Includes several journals on Mormon topics, including over 7500 articles.
See HBLL special collections to gain access. Collection contains fieldwork reports of legends on religious themes, often with cultural and historical connections to Mormonism. Items were collected by students in folklore classes at Brigham Young University, Utah State University, and the University of Utah from 1958 to 2007.
Over 1,000 images from one of the foremost 19th century landscape photographers of the western United States. The BYU collection includes portraits, many of prominent Mormon leaders; views of Utah and the west; mining operations; and some Native Americans
Published by the American Society of Church History. This quarterly peer-reviewed journal publishes original research articles and book reviews covering all areas of the history of Christianity and its cultural contexts in all places and times, including its non-Western expressions. Contains over 400 articles on Mormon topics.
A list of books and manuscripts at the LDS Church History Library with the correspondence of Mormons. Enter in a keyword search in the advanced search box along with "correspondence" to find letters by an individual or from a particular geographic location.
A list of books and manuscripts at the LDS Church History Library with diaries of Mormons. Enter in a keyword search in the advanced search box along with "journals" to find diaries by an individual or from a particular geographic location.
Since 1899, the Church has published official reports of its annual (April) and semiannual (October) General Conferences, commonly called Conference Reports. These reports are distributed in booklet form only to Church leaders (bishoprics and higher), Church employees, and libraries.
Dialogue was established to express Mormon culture, and examine the relevance of religion to secular life. It is edited by Latter-day Saints who wish to bring their faith into dialogue with the larger stream of world religious thought and human experience.
The Wiki Version of Macmillan’s 1992 Encyclopedia of Mormonism. Use this for backgound information and bibliographies on topics, events, and people in Mormonism. Contains additions and updates by BYU Studies.
A list of materials in the BYU library archives related to the various units of REL 225, Foundations of the Restoration. Search by an individuals name (e.g., "Emma"), by an event (e.g., "First Vision"), or by a location (e.g., "Kirtland").
Founded in 1855 and continued until 1922, Frank Leslie's Weekly was an American illustrated literary and news publication which combined elements of war, politics, art, science, travel and exploration, literature and the fine arts in each issue. Contains over 300 articles about Mormonism. Includes keyword searchable transcripts and scans of the original pages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Find over 1,200 entries in a variety of reference resources on Mormon topics.
A list of Church policies and procedures an various topics and issues. Use the subheading 38.6 Medical and Health Policies for topics such as cremation and the Word of Wisdom. Use 38.7 Policies on Moral Issues for topics such as birth control and suicide
This collection of periodicals dating from 1820-1916 documents the experiences of a number of American religious communities, ranging from Ohio and Virginia to Methodists and Catholics in Montana and Utah. Originals housed in the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Library, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT.
This BYU collection contains almost 13,000 images taken ca. 1878-1928, which includes studio and environmental portraits, mostly of Utah residents; Utah railroad and mining history (including the 1900 Scofield mine disaster); and LDS Church historic sites
Based out of Religious Education at Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, this site offers access to information on Mormonism in every region and country of the world, as well as topics of international scope.
Only available on campus. Requires creating individual logins but is free for all BYU patrons. GospeLink contains over 3,000 works including scriptures, reference works, LDS periodicals, works by General Authorities, works by Mormons and for Latter-day Saints and a World Classics library.
Currently only available on campus, GospeLink contains over 3,000 works including scriptures, sermons, conference talks, commentaries, reference works, periodicals, and historical works. LDS.org content can also be searched here. From on campus, use previously created login here.
IBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and dance performance in 126 countries. Includes 300+ entries on Mormonism, many of which are about Mormon drama and folklore.
1998+ Indexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals and also articles and obituaries from The New York Times and The Washington Post covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Over 1,000 entries on Mormon theatre, dance, and film.
This journal is a European based internationally focused, peer-reviewed scholarly journal, which is committed to the promotion of interdisciplinary scholarship by publishing articles and reviews of current work in the field of Mormon studies.
Issues in Religion and Psychotherapy is the journal of the Association of Mormon Counselors and Psychotherapists (AMCAP). AMCAP is an independent, international professional organization of counselors, psychotherapists and others in helping professions whose common bond is adherence to the principles and standards of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
In combination with the print volumes, here is where all documents written by or about Joseph Smith during his lifetime are being published. Also provides information on Smith's contemporaries and events in LDS Church history.
Brief biographical sketches for selected persons mentioned in Joseph Smith’s papers. Names listed in this directory include church leaders and members, Smith family members, people Joseph Smith encountered in his travels, parties involved in legal and business matters, and other acquaintances.
The Journal History of the Church is a daily history of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints from 1830 to 2008. It was taken mostly from newspapers but also from minutes and diary entries, and, as a result, it contains valuable historical and biographical information. This is the landing page for the all of the histories including indexes. The first link, Journal History will take you to an online finding aid. Vol. 1830-1923 have been digitized.
A peer-reviewed, biannual periodical, dedicated to promoting understanding of the history, meaning, and significance of the scriptures revealed through the Prophet Joseph Smith. A publication of the Neal A. Maxwell Institute.
JSTOR has created a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats. Contains close to 20,000 citations on Mormons.
Films by Latter-day Saint Filmmakers. Lists cover feature films, made-for-television movies, and straight-to-video. Films are made by Latter-day Saint writers, directors, producers, cinematographers, composers or actors.
“This website allows you to quickly and easily search talks from General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This corpus (or collection of texts) contains 24 million words in 10,000 talks from 1851 to the present.”
Wikipedia article listing Latter Day Saints who have attained at least some level of fame and/or success in a variety of professions. This list includes adherents of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS or Mormon), as well as adherents of related denominations (as labeled).
Indexes the full-text of nine literary databases dealing with English poetry and drama, 18th century fiction, American and African poetry and Shakespeare. Contains 400+ entries on Mormon literature and folklore.
Mormon Artist is an online magazine (2008-present) covering the Latter-day Saint arts world and the intersection between art and faith. Includes interviews with Mormons who create visual art, literature, film, theatre, dance, and music.
Mormon Historical Studies is an independent periodical that includes essays, biographies, documents, book reviews, historical site descriptions, indexes, and archival listings relevant to subjects of general interest to Latter Day Saints.
Journals and documents of some early Mormons. Compiled by Dr. Milton V. Backman, Jr., In Cooperation with Keith W. Perkins, Religious Studies Center, Brigham Young University, with various additions by the Book of Abraham Project Group.
A collection of blogs, websites, social media, news, and other Internet content relating to or created by members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and captured using the Internet Archive.
Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present, indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. Includes 200+ articles on Mormons.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. Contains over 6,000 citations on Mormonism.
The author has collected nearly six thousand photographs of Utah pioneers (before 1869) and other prominent early members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. In a separate section are included brief biographical and genealogical sketches of these men and many more from the same era.
RILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Coverage begins with publications from 1967 and continues through the present. Includes a few articles on Mormonism but is primarily good for broader context in musicology.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature for science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Contains 900+ citations to Mormonism. Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
This index links from scriptures to the general conference talks that cite those scriptures in LDS General Conference between 1942 and the present. You can sort the citation index by scripture (the default), by speaker, or by date of citation.
DOWNLOADABLE. Volume One DVDs contain many pages of manuscripts from the Archives of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Salt Lake City, scanned in full color at high resolution. Volume Two contains the Journal History of the Church (1830-1923) and its index (1830-1972).
Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) searches over 3,000 journals across 55 social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals — 1900 to present. Contains over 2,000 citations on Mormon social issues and topics.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains over 600 entries on Mormon social issues and topics.
Sponsored by Hartford Seminary’s Hartford Institute for Religion Research with a commitment to providing quality social scientific religion research information that is helpful for religious leaders and the general public. 300+ citations on Mormonism.
This free online database includes citations to articles, books, and dissertations dealing with the history, culture, and doctrine of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Many entries have links to the full text of an article or dissertation.
Utah Historical Quarterly was first published in 1928. Since then, it has published the best scholarship available on Utah History. The journal is filled with articles, memoirs, annotated primary sources, book reviews, and photos.
These collections contain a large variety of photographs from the Utah State Historical Society, including the Salt Lake City Engineers, Schools in the Salt Lake Valley, 2002 Olympic Legacy, and the Philo T. Farnsworth Television Tubes Collections.