Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Philosophy and Church History/Doctrine Librarian
Use these resouces to discover the background and historical context of a revelation, issue, or event in Church history.
Oxford Handbook of Mormonism
Articles and bibliographies by prominent scholars on major topics in Church history, practice, and theology.
Encyclopedia of Mormonism Online
The Wiki Version of Macmillan’s 1992 Encyclopedia of Mormonism. Use this for backgound information and bibliographies on topics, events, and people in Mormonism. Contains additions and updates by BYU Studies.
Doctrine and Covenants Background
A short list of resources for finding background information on a section in the D&C.
History of Mormon Practice Bibliography
Independent website devoted to documenting sources on the growth of Mormon concepts such as baptism, healing, cursing, and other rituals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Find over 1,200 entries in a variety of reference resources on Mormon topics.
GospeLink (First-time Users Only - must create account) This link opens in a new window
Only available on campus. Requires creating individual logins but it is free for all BYU patrons. GospeLink contains over 3,000 works including scriptures, reference works, LDS periodicals, works by General Authorities, works by Mormons and for Latter-day Saints, and a World Classics library.
GospeLink.com (All users except for first-time users)
Currently only available on campus, GospeLink contains over 3,000 works including scriptures, sermons, conference talks, commentaries, reference works, periodicals, and historical works. LDS.org content can also be searched here. From on campus, use previously created login here.
A popular website tracking sources related to various trending topics in Latter-day Saint studies.
Use these resources to find biographical information about an individual from Church history.
LDS Biographical Encyclopedia
Collected around 1900, the biographies detail the lives of many LDS men and women in four volumes.
Mormons and Their Neighbors
An index to 100,000 biographies on Mormons located in over 200 sources in the Harold B. Lee Library. Compiled by former librarian, Marvin E. Wiggins.
History of Utah: Biographical Volume
Contains numerous biographical sketches of 19th century LDS leaders.
Pioneers and Prominent Men of Utah
The author has collected nearly six thousand photographs of Utah pioneers (before 1869) and other prominent early members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. In a separate section are included brief biographical and genealogical sketches of these men and many more from the same era.
Joseph Smith Papers Online: People
Brief biographical sketches for selected persons mentioned in Joseph Smith’s papers. Names listed in this directory include church leaders and members, Smith family members, people Joseph Smith encountered in his travels, parties involved in legal and business matters, and other acquaintances.
List of Latter-day Saints
Wikipedia article listing Latter Day Saints who have attained at least some level of fame and/or success in a variety of professions. This list includes adherents of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS or Mormon), as well as adherents of related denominations (as labeled).
BYU Library Books: Mormon Biographies
A list of books at BYU with biographies on Mormons.
BYU Library Books: Church President Biographies
A list of books at BYU with biographies on presidents of the LDS Church.
Speeches and Quotes
Use these resources to find quotes from Church members and authorities on topics or scriptural passages.
LDS General Conference Corpus
“This website allows you to quickly and easily search talks from General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This corpus (or collection of texts) contains 24 million words in 10,000 talks from 1851 to the present.”
Recent General Conference Talks (1971-Present)
Official Church archive of General Conference talks back to 1971.
Conference Reports (1899-1970)
Since 1899, the Church has published official reports of its annual (April) and semiannual (October) General Conferences, commonly called Conference Reports. These reports are distributed in booklet form only to Church leaders (bishoprics and higher), Church employees, and libraries.
Journal of Discourses Online
Sermons of the LDS Church authorities from 1853 to 1886. It was published in Liverpool, England. Select "Advanced Search" in order to search by keyword across the speeches.
BYU Speeches from 1949 to the present. Includes transcripts, audio, and video.
Mormon Texts Project
A list of 19th and early 20th century texts written by LDS members and general authorities.
Use these resources to discover what scholars and general authorities have written about a particular scriptural passage.
Related Research Guides
This redirects to the research guide and librarian for Biblical Studies.
This redirects to the research guide and librarian for World Religions.