Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Philosophy and Church History/Doctrine Librarian
General Social Sciences
Some key cross-disciplinary resources in the social sciences related to Latter-day Saints. These are recommended starting points before moving on to the subject-specific sections below. Search using "mormon OR lds OR latter-day saint" and your subtopic to retrieve the most results.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Coverage: 1861 - Current. With more than 2 million entries of dissertations and theses, many with abstracts and/or PDFs of the full product. 28,000+ entries on Mormon topics.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Contains over 6,600 entries on Mormonism.
The most comprehensive database for psychology and related topics. Contains over 1,400 entries on Mormonism.
Sociology of Religion Bibliography Online
Sponsored by Hartford Seminary’s Hartford Institute for Religion Research with a commitment to providing quality social scientific religion research information that is helpful for religious leaders and the general public. 300+ citations on Mormonism.
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI)
Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) searches over 3,000 journals across 55 social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals — 1900 to present. Contains over 2,000 citations on Mormon social issues and topics.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature for science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Contains 900+ citations to Mormonism
Mormon Social Science Bibliography
A 2007 list of resources about social issues and Mormonism.
Current Church Statistics
Contains basic world-wide Church statistics about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Association of Religion Data Archives
The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) acts to preserve quantitative data on American religion, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files. Contains 2000 census data on Mormonism and other studies conducted on American religion.
Global Mormonism Project
Based out of Religious Education at Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, this site offers access to information on Mormonism in every region and country of the world, as well as topics of international scope.
BYU Library Books: Mormon Almanacs
A list of books at BYU with statistical information about the LDS Church and its membership.
Issues in Religion and Psychotherapy
Issues in Religion and Psychotherapy is the journal of the Association of Mormon Counselors and Psychotherapists (AMCAP). AMCAP is an independent, international professional organization of counselors, psychotherapists and others in helping professions whose common bond is adherence to the principles and standards of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
BYU Library Materials: Mormon Mental Health
A list of resources at BYU about Mormonism and mental health.
BYU Library Materials: Mormon Psychology
A list of resources at BYU about Mormonism and psychology.