Click the button to set up a short research consultation with me or feel free to email me your questions. I will help in whatever way I can! gerrit_vandyk@byu.edu
Some key cross-disciplinary resources in the humanities related to Latter-day Saints. These are recommended starting points before moving on to the subject-specific sections below.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present. Contains 5,000+ entries on Mormonism.
Latter-day Saint StudiesThis free online database, formally known as Studies in Mormon History, after the print volume (Allen, Walker, and Whittaker, 2000), includes citations to articles, books, and dissertations dealing with the history, culture, and doctrine of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Many entries have links to the full text of an article or dissertation.
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Theological Library Association. ATLA indexes several Mormon publications. Includes over 7,500 citations on Mormonism.
Encyclopedia of Mormonism OnlineThe Wiki Version of Macmillan’s 1992 Encyclopedia of Mormonism. Use this for backgound information and bibliographies on topics, events, and people in Mormonism. Contains additions and updates by BYU Studies.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIndexes 3.5 million articles on a variety of humanities topics. Includes over 1,200 citations on Mormonism.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR has created a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats. Contains close to 20,000 citations on Mormons.
Mormon ArtistMormon Artist is an online magazine (2008-present) covering the Latter-day Saint arts world and the intersection between art and faith. Includes interviews with Mormons who create visual art, literature, film, theatre, dance, and music.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new window20,000 entries on all aspects of Mormonism, from history to film. 9,000+ are from academic journals.
Art
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowUse this resource for broader context in art history. Has a small selection of Mormon art articles.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowOnly a handful of Mormon citations; useful instead for American art history back to the 19th century.
Film
ldsfilm.comFilms by Latter-day Saint Filmmakers. Lists cover feature films, made-for-television movies, and straight-to-video. Films are made by Latter-day Saint writers, directors, producers, cinematographers, composers or actors.
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Some Mormon content.
Film Finder DatabaseSearch for films at BYU by genre, subgenere, title, director, or performer.
Literature Online (LION)This link opens in a new windowIndexes the full-text of nine literary databases dealing with English poetry and drama, 18th century fiction, American and African poetry and Shakespeare. Contains 400+ entries on Mormon literature and folklore.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and dance performance in 126 countries. Includes 300+ entries on Mormonism, many of which are about Mormon drama and folklore.
Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875This link opens in a new windowA collection of 19th century American fiction. Search by keyword among these works for Mormon topics.
Early American FictionThis link opens in a new windowSearchable texts by Cooper, Hawthorne, Irving, and Poe, etc. Search for Mormon keywords to find works written about Mormons.
BYU Library Archives: Mormon FolkloreSee HBLL special collections to gain access. Collection contains fieldwork reports of legends on religious themes, often with cultural and historical connections to Mormonism. Items were collected by students in folklore classes at Brigham Young University, Utah State University, and the University of Utah from 1958 to 2007.
Music & Dance
Music: LDS GuideOur music librarian, Myrna Layton, has created an excellent research guide devoted to finding music by Latter-day Saints.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new window1998+ Indexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals and also articles and obituaries from The New York Times and The Washington Post covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Over 1,000 entries on Mormon theatre, dance, and film.
Music Index (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowMusic Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present, indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. Includes 200+ articles on Mormons.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowRILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Coverage begins with publications from 1967 and continues through the present. Includes a few articles on Mormonism but is primarily good for broader context in musicology.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new window1998+ Indexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals and also articles and obituaries from The New York Times and The Washington Post covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Over 1,000 entries on Mormon theatre, dance, and film.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and dance performance in 126 countries. Includes 300+ entries on Mormonism, many of which are about Mormon drama and folklore.
