Subject Guides: Economics: Articles

Citing & Organization

RefWorks This link opens in a new window The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.

Purdue OWL Helpful information on citation and format styles.

The Concise APA Handbook 7th edition
Publication Date: 2020

Working Papers & Reports

NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window Early access to research and findings from leading economists. Produced by the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Federal Reserve Research papers and notes from the Federal Reserve.
EconPapers Index of economics research and working papers, some full-text available.
World Bank Access thousands of reports, papers, and books on development.

Historical News Archives

Wall Street Journal (Historical) This link opens in a new window A ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1889 and has an 18 year moving wall. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Economist (Historical) This link opens in a new window The Economist Historical Archive from Gale delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2010.
Financial Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window The Financial Times Historical Archive from Gale delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
The Making of the Modern World (Gale) This link opens in a new window The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature includes scans of 61,000 texts published from 1450 to 1850 on economics, business, trade, politics, and social conditions.

Search Tips

Be aware of keywords and subject terms used in articles on your topic and add them to your search.
Search in multiple locations/databases to ensure you get the full picture on your topic.
Save time by searching multiple databases at once. Within any EBSCO database select "Choose Databases" to add.

Peer Reviewed & Scholarly Articles

EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The main database for research in economics. Contains articles from premier economics journals. Produced by the American Economic Association.

News, Magazine, Industry & Trade Resources

Note: the databases for peer reviewed articles above also include industry, magazine, and news articles.

Factiva This link opens in a new window Our best source for global and local news focusing on business and economics.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Conference Board This link opens in a new window Find expert reports on issues in economics, business, and management.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Search more than 800 newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Mintel This link opens in a new window Reports on consumer markets and trends. Segmentation, branding, positioning, and psychographics. Rich insight into consumer behavior and lifestyles. Coverage is deepest for the U.S.

Legal Information

Use these databases to find laws, court cases, torts, and other legal information. Mainly focused in the United States, but international sources are also available.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Search through U.S. government and legal documents including all U.S. treaties and agreements, every published U.S. Supreme Court decision, the U.S. Code, law reviews, and more.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. An essential primary source tool for the study of the U.S. judicial system.
LegalTrac (Gale) This link opens in a new window Search all major law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers. Coverage includes federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation in the United States and internationally.
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Find peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

Citation Style

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation Guide and examples for how to cite legal documents and information. From the Legal Information Institute.

Economics Librarian

Maggie Marchant

Email Me

Contact:

1212 HBLL

(801) 422-3924

Subjects: Business & Economics

Get Help

Social Sciences Desk
801.422.6228
Email
First floor map

FAQ

Search to see if your question has already been answered!

Economics: Articles