Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) This link opens in a new window
Perfect for students interested in academic careers or for faculty who’d like a refresher, this helps teach qualitative and quantitative research methods. Content includes:
• Videos teaching the research process
• Instruction manuals for statistical analysis (“Little Green Books”)
• Case studies and sample research projects
• Practice datasets
• Research Project Planner
Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students by Research Methods for Business and Social Science Students aims to present a clear discussion of the research methods employed in various disciplines related to our daily life problems. The theoretical basis of research methods is explained clearly and succinctly. Collecting data is a key part of the book and this includes both qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection, along with the advantages and disadvantages of each method. The book also describes in clear terms how students can analyse data, interpret results and link these to the literature review and hence their own contribution. It sets out a range of fundamental ideas in research methods, such as deductivism and inductivism, and explains why methodology is not the same as method. In this second edition every chapter has been re-written to be more readable and also to include more examples. The authors have also added a real student research proposal and a multiple-choice test with answers for the readers to test their own understanding of the ideas in the book. The book has been designed to illustrate research tools in a clear and accessible manner through chapters on such topics as formulating research, research design, data analysis and writing up the research results.
Publication Date: 2014
Citing & Format Resources
RefWorks This link opens in a new windowSave and share an unlimited number of references. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with Word or Google Docs.
Cabell's Directories This link opens in a new windowFind information on journals in Accounting, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing, and Psychology. This resource helps to identify journals to publish in.
This guide provides background on research metrics and where to find data to demonstrate research influence and rigor.
Technical Writing for Business People by Technical writing is about communicating key information to the people who need it. It might be a manual for an application, a guide to using heavy machinery, a diagnostic aide for medical practitioners or a guidance note about new legislation. It needs to be clear and it needs to be precise. This book shows you how to achieve this and more. Whatever the content or context, in this book you'll discover the essential tools and resources that you need to create technical writing that works for everyone.
Publication Date: 2018
Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences by 'The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Infused with multidisciplinary examples, humor, and a healthy dose of irreverence, Fallon helps emerging researchers successfully navigate the intellectual and emotional challenges of writing quantitative research reports. After reinforcing foundations in methodology, statistics, and writing in the first section of the book, emerging researchers work through a series of questions to construct their research report. The final section contains sample papers generated by undergraduates illustrating three major forms of quantitative research – primary data collection, secondary data analysis, and content analysis. Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is appropriate for research methods classes in communication, criminology or criminal justice, economics, education, political science, psychological science, social work, and sociology. Individual students and novice researchers can also read the book as a supplement to any course or research experience that requires writing up quantitative data. “Fallon brings much-needed accessibility to the daunting world of quantitative methods. Filled with contemporary references to pop culture … key concepts are creatively introduced.” – Diana Cohen, Associate Professor of Political Science, Central Connecticut State University “This book covers the ‘how to'of writing research projects in a highly engaging manner. Graduate students who are preparing to work on their master's thesis will get a lot out of this book.” – Damon Mitchell, Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Central Connecticut State University“Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is not your typical book. It is a MUST HAVE handbook for students in the social and behavioral sciences …” – Carolyn Fallahi, Professor of Psychological Science, Central Connecticut State University“Kudos to Fallon for writing a very thorough and readable foundational text for beginning researchers!” – Linda Behrendt, Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Indiana State University Marianne Fallon, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor of Psychological Science at Central Connecticut State University and has taught undergraduate Research Methods for over 10 years. A recipient of the Connecticut State University Trustees Teaching Award, she has mentored many emerging researchers, several of whom have won local and regional research awards and have published their research.'
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Doing a PhD in the Social Sciences by Covering the academic and operational aspects of PhD research degree programmes, this accessible yet comprehensive book is an essential guide to navigating through the PhD research journey.
Publication Date: 2021
Academic Writing and Grammar for Students by Whether you′re writing an essay or assignment, report or dissertation, this useful guide shows you how to improve the quality of your work at university - fast - by identifying and using the correct use of English grammar and punctuation in your academic writing.
Call Number: LB 2369 .O75x 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by Just because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports • Proposals • Business plans • Presentations • Press releases • Memos • Email • Newsletters • Collection Letters • Sales materials • And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors'step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating clichés, and much more.
Publication Date: 2010-08-04
Social Sciences Desk
First floor map
Search to see if your question has already been answered!