Subject Guides: Open Access Resources in German Studies (OARGS): Audio-Visual

Photographs

Bildarchiv Austria (Photo Archive Austria) The Austrian Photo Archive, hosted by the Austrian National Library, has advanced search capabilities by topic, person, geographic location, etc. Subtopics include a portrait collection, World War I, Blaeu Van-der Hem atlas, contemporary history, Austria, Vienna and nature.
Der Bildbestand der Deutschen Kolonialgesellschaft (Pictorial Archive of the German Colonial Society) A research project in the Frankfurt university library that reproduces images from former German colonies in a searchable archive.
Deutsches Bundesarchiv - Digitales Bildarchiv (German Federal Archive - Digital Photo Archive) This archive preserves around 12 million photographs and posters from German history (1860 to the present). Main emphases are on events and persons. Full-text keyword search and advanced search are possible, as are searches by topic, individual persons and place names. German and English interfaces.
DigiBaeck - Photographs There are over 20,000 photographs from Leo Baeck's record of German Jewish life from the 18th century to the present. You can browse by topic or use the "advanced search" filter and focus the findings.
Fotoerbe.de ([German] Photo Heritage) foroerbe.de, with over 150 million photographs, seeks to document and preserve the images of earlier German analog photography.

Digitaler Portrait Index Circa 2 million portraits assembled from various collections by Foto Marburg, with subjects divided into 12 professions. German search interface available. Registration (not necessary) accrues minimal advantages.
Porträtsammlung (Portrait Collection) Part of the Austrian National Library's Photo Archive, the Portrait Collection with 200,000 graphic entries presents categories of popes, emperors, kings, Austrian personalities, other potentates, nobility, office holders, citizens, women, clergy, scholars, artists, military, "marginal groups" and others.

Deutsches Bundesarchiv - Filmothek (German Federal Archive - Film Library) Streaming of videos on the Federal Archive's Film Library Online is free for all users. Current film eras are the First World War and Weimar Republic (official documentaries, weekly newsreels [Wochenschau] and commercial or advertising films), not yet from 1933-1945. German and English interfaces.
Zeitzeugenportal (Portal to Contemporary Witnesses) This website contains a video collection of around 1,000 eyewitnesses reporting their experiences during epochal times in German history, but also from daily life. a project of the "Haus der Geschichte" Foundation. Browsing by time periods, topics or personal names.

Audio-Katalog REDE - regionalsprache.de (Audio Catalog of Regional Language Variants in Germany) Over 7,000 discrete sound files recording regional language variants in Germany. Longitudinal project also includes mapped regional isoglosses, plus an extensive bibliography of related books and articles.
Datenbank für Gesprochenes Deutsch - DGD (Database for Spoken German) These corpora present spoken German in varying registers: research and teaching (FOLK), German dialects (Zwimer-Corpus), German idiomatic speech (Pfeffer-Corpus), contrastive scientific speech (GWSS) and "Deutsch Heute" (DH). Products of the Leibniz Institute for German Language. German and English interfaces.
Deutsches Bundesarchiv - Töne (German Federal Archive - Sound Recordings) Emphasis is being put on sound recordings in order to secure the originals from loss or decay. There are currently sound archives thematically for the First World War and for Reunification.
Tondokumente der Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek (Sound Documents of the Swiss National Audio Library) The Swiss audio collection has gathered over 500,000 sound files from the Swiss recording industry, radio programs, academic research and sound legacies of composers and performers.

Atlanten und Karten REDE - regionalsprache.de (Atlas and Maps of Regional Language Variants in Germany) A longitudinal project with regional linguistic isoglosses integrated into one system that requires a bit of training (with guidance online). Also includes thousands of sound files, plus an extensive bibliography of related online books and articles.
Atlas Blaeu Van der Hem Part of the Austrian Photo Archive listed above, the atlas covers Austria, Germany and Switzerland in addition to other European, African and American areas.
Swisstopo From the Swiss Federal Office of Topography come online maps and data covering every square meter of Switzerland. A location search pulls up maps or high-resolution satellite pictures. A swisstopo app is available for handheld devices. German, French, Italian and English interfaces.
Topographische Karte 1:25,000 (Pre-WWII German Maps) This set of maps of Germany (in pre-1939 boundaries) was obtained by the British after the war and later given to the U.S. Army. It is now part of BYU Digital Collections. The sheets run in a numbered grid pattern, north to south and east to west, with numbers increasing by 100 each row.

Ansichtskarten Online - AKON ([Austrian] Postcards Online) Around 75,000 digitized postcards from the Austrian National Library's collection come together here. Time range is from the beginning of illustrated postcards at the end of the 19th century to the early 1940s. Search by geographical pinpointing on a scalable world map. Preponderance of locales are Austrian.