Subject Guides: Open Access Resources in German Studies (OARGS): Journals

Indexes to Digital Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is a crowd-sourced online directory providing access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Articles in 80 languages from 126 countries. Over 16,000 journals, of which 12,000 are without "article processing charges." Journal or article searches by title, subject, publisher, keywords or language.
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek - EZB (Electronic Library of [Germanistik ] Journals) A single search for OA electronic journals in German Studies. There is "Ampel" access: Green-lit titles are open to all, Yellow and Red journals are limited to certain students or only contain abstracts or tables of contents. Happily, the majority of titles are green. Similar index lists exist for many other disciplines.
E-Periodica - Schweizer Zeitschriften Online (Swiss Journals Online) With over 760 historical or public-domain journals currently, this platform offers advanced search capabilities as well as alphabetical browsing. Publications range from the 18th century to the present. A service of ETH in Zürich in cooperation with the Swiss National Library. German, French and English interfaces.
Zeitschriftendatenbank (Journal Database) This service of the German National Library includes a filter for "planned digitisation" titles in the "advanced search" mode. Other fields narrow the focus by publisher, place of publication, country of publication, title, title keywords, etc. English and German interfaces.

Collections of Specialty Journals

Zeitschriften der Aufklärung (Enlightenment Journals) From the digital collections at the University of Bielefeld, nearly 200 digitized journals of the Age of Enlightenment.
Exilpresse Digital (Digital Exile Press) German-language exile journals which represent valuable sources for research into the German-language exile experience. From the collections of the German National Library. German and English interfaces.
Leo Baeck Institute Periodicals The library of the Leo Baeck Institute (New York) is dedicated to the history of German-speaking Jews, holding more than 1,600 periodical titles, 250 of which are digitized in the Internet Archive, 240 in German, 6 in English, 3 in Yiddish and one in Hebrew. Search interface or browse by title or or by date published.

Examples of Individual Magazines or Journals

Brecht Yearbook By agreement with the University of Wisconsin and various publishers, the Brecht Yearbook is being made available online without subscription. There is a search interface or a browse by title, author, year of publication, and so forth.
Goethe-Gesellschaft, Jahrbuch (1914-1935) Available as an open access journal on the otherwise subscription-based DigiZeitschriften platform. German and English interfaces.
Goethe-Gesellschaft, Viermonatsschriftten Neue Folge des Jahrbuchs (1936-1971) Successor volumes to the Goethe-Gesellschaft Jahrbuch. Available as an open access journal on the otherwise subscription-based DigiZeitschriften platform. German and English interfaces.
Swiss American Historical Society Review Articles and reviews in Swiss and Swiss-American studies with open access. One of the journals found in the BYU institutional repository (as is a journal of the Danish American Heritage Society), it includes online publications 1990 to the present, but is under construction for the earlier years.
Studi Austriaca This Austrian studies journal is produced in Italy at the University of Milan with an international editorial board. Articles appear principally in German, English and Italian. All volumes from 1992 to the present are accessible online.
Der Spiegel Archiv
Zeitschrift für deutsches Alterthum (1841-1875) Available as an open access journal on the otherwise subscription-based DigiZeitschriften platform. German and English interfaces.
Zeitschrift für deutsches Altertum und deutsche Literatur (1876-2015) Successor series to the volume above. Available as an open access journal on the otherwise subscription-based DigiZeitschriften platform. German and English interfaces.