Subject Guides: Open Access Resources in German Studies (OARGS): News Media

Portals to Historical Newspapers

Compact Memory Digital Jewish periodicals at the Goethe University, Frankfurt am Main. The 391 newspapers and journals are one part of a large digitized Judaica collection. German and English interfaces.
Zeitungsinformationssystem - ZEFYS (Newspaper Information System) List of newspapers digitized at the State Library in Berlin. Interfaces in German and English.

Historic German Newspapers and Journals Online A part of the German EuroDocs collection with portal to periodical collections and regional newspapers. Within the list, see also the further link to "Historic German Newspapers Online."
Zeitungsportal DDR-Presse (Newspaper Portal for GDR Press) Three GDR dailies were digitized and fully transcribed. Due to legal reasons, a registration is required... but your privacy is allegedly preserved.

ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online The digital reading room of the Austrian National Library for its collection of historical Austrian newspapers and journals. There is a search interface, plus list access by title, year or thematic index.

enewspaperarchives.ch (Digitized Swiss Newspapers) Searchable and browsable access to 146 newspaper titles digitized by the Swiss National Library and its cantonal partners. See the link also for further Swiss newspapers available on different platforms. Interfaces in German, French, Italian and English.

Spiegel Archiv Spiegel magazines, digitized or born digital, from 1948 through three years ago are freely available to search and read. Other services may require a subscription.

ARD-Mediathek (Germany) Videos and livestream content from the ARD1 constellation of programs. Also includes news, sports and an audio library. Note: due to licenses, some of the programs cannot be seen outside of Germany.
ORF TVthek (Austria) Videos and livestream content from the ORF constellation of programs. Includes news, sports. documentaries, culture, entertainment, etc. Note: due to licenses, some of the programs, such as movies, cannot be seen outside of Austria.
SRF Online (Switzerland) Videos and streaming services for news, sports, culture, documentaries, and and audio channel with radio and podcasts. Due to licensing restrictions, some programs may not be seen outside of Switzerland.
ZDF Mediathek (Germany) Videos and livestream content from the ZDF2 constellation of programs. Also includes news, sports. documentaries, culture, etc. Note: due to licenses, some of the programs, such as movies, cannot be seen outside of Germany.