Subject Guides: Film &amp; Media Arts: Find Articles &amp; Databases

Journal Article Databases

Give this a try: Databases from the same publisher (e.g., EBSCO, ProQuest) can be searched in one group. Select an initial database, then look for "Choose Databases" above the search box (EBSCO) or "Databases" in the top navigation bar (ProQuest) to add more.

Consider adding a subject-specific database (e.g., EBSCO's PsycINFO or ProQuest's Gender Watch) if your research includes another discipline.

EBSCO Databases (try searching these together)

Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 548,220 records of journal articles, newspapers, books, newsletters, reports, NGO studies, dissertations, etc. It spans from 1972 and earlier to the present, including Women Studies Abstracts (1984-) and Women's Studies Database (1972-), and several bibliographies. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts over one million journal, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in 2,000 journals from over 50 countries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. PsychInfo is provided by the American Psychological Association.

ProQuest Databases (try searching these together)

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 - 1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Formerly International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

Also Try . . .

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.

General Databases (broad coverage of many disciplines)

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.

Film Studies Journal Titles | Current Subscriptions

Following is a selected list of journals related to media arts. If a title does not have a link, it is available in print format only, located either in the Periodicals Room (level 2) or on level 5. If there is a link on the title, it is also available online.

Call Number

Title

Location

TR 845 .A55

American Cinematographer

American Film

LB 1043.8 .A43x

The American Film and Video Review

PN 1993 .A617

AV Magazine

Quarto PN 1992.B5x

The Big Reel

BioScope (South Asian Screen Studies)

PN 1995.9 .W6 C28

Camera Obscura

Canadian Journal of Film Studies

PN 1994 .C55x

CineAction !

PN 1993 .C5177

Cineaste

PZ 4 .A1 C56

Cinefantastique

TR 858 .C45

Cinefex

PN 1993 .S62

Cinema Journal

PN 1993.5 .A8 C56

Cinema Papers

Cinémas

PN 1995.9 .C54 C55

Classic Images

PN 1993 .C57

Close-up

AP 4 .C7

The Contemporary Review

DVD News

ML 1 .E58 Quarto

Entertainment Design

Music & Dance Level 4

Entertainment Weekly

PN 1993.3 F38

Film

PN 1995.2 .F54

Film & History

PN 1993.5 .C2 C23

Film Canada Yearbook

PN 1993 .F438

PN 1993 .F4183

PN 1993 .F44

PN 1993 .F56

Film Journal International

PN 1993 .H457

ML 1 .F55

PN 1993 .F64725

Films and Filming

PN 1993 .F6473

Films in Review

PN 1993.5 .A1H54

Historical Journal of Film, Radio and Television

Hollywood Scriptwriter

Hollywood Quarterly

E 169.1 .J7

Journal of American Culture

PN 1993 .U63

Journal of Film and Video

PN 1993 .J66

Journal of Popular Film & Television

PN 1993 .J85x

Jump Cut

PN 1993 .M32x

Media Source

PN 1993 .M53x

Millennum Film Journal

PN 1993 .M74516

Movie

PN 1995 .P682

PN 1993 .P78

PN 1993 .Q3

Quarterly Review of Film & Video

PN 1997 .A1 S32

Scenario

PN 1993 .S32

Screen

PN 1993 .S34

Screen Incorporating Screen Education

PN 1993.3 .D3

Screen World

Senses of Cinema

PN1993 .S62

Sight and Sound

PN 1993.5 .A8 C56

Spectator

PN 1995 .S64x

The Spectator

PN 1995.9 .C54C55 (Quarto)

Studies in Documentary Film

5 Quarto

Studies in European Cinema

Studies in French Cinema

Studies in Hispanic Cinemas

PN 2000 .V3

Variety

PN 1993 .W48

Wide Angle

Wide screen

PN 1993 .V44

The Velvet Light Trap

AP 2 .V72

The Village Voice

JOURNAL FINDER

Get Help

4th Floor Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4

Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

Phone: 801.422.1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu

Librarian

Matthew Hill

Email Me

Contact:

5447 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602

801-422-2473

Subjects: Area Studies, History & Geography, Languages & Literature

Librarian

Elizabeth Smart

Contact:

On professional development leave through December 2024 (returning January 2025). For research assistance, please contact my colleagues listed on this page.

Subjects: Communications, Global Women's Studies, Humanities, Media Arts