Subject Guides: Film &amp; Media Arts: Background Resources

Entertainment Magazine Archives

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (PQ) This link opens in a new window
This collection features archives of Variety (1905-2000), Picturegoer (1913-1960), Broadcasting (1931-1993), and more.
Variety Archives This link opens in a new window
Access to full PDF page images of Variety from the first issue in 1905 through 2000.

Online Film & Television Reference

Film Catalogs

American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new window
AFI Catalog is the premier national filmography and is produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute. It documents more than 46,000 American films from 1893-1958 and 1961-1970. Extensive plot summaries, full production and cast information, and notes are provide. AFI Catalog can be searched in conjunction with Film Index International through Film Indexes Online.
Film Index International (Film Indexes Online) This link opens in a new window
FII is produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. This database indexes over 115,000 films, 57,000 film personalities from over 170 countries. It also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes, searchable plot summaries, and full cast and crew lists. FII can be searched in conjunction with AFI Catalog through Film Indexes Online.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

International Dictionary of Film and Filmmakers Written for film students and film buffs alike, this set features thorough coverage of legendary films, actors, actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists through detailed essays and commentary by experts. Entries include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

* Encyclopedia of Epic Films, 2014. (E-book)

Print Film & Television Reference

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Films. 2015. HumRef PN 1995 .R6857 2015.

Katz. The Film Encyclopedia. 2008. HumRef PN 1993.45 .K34 2008

Mayer. Encyclopedia of Film Noir. HumRef PN 1995.9 .F54 M39 2007

Roud. Cinema: A Critical Dictionary. 1980. 2 vols. HumRef PN 1993.45 .C5

History

The Oxford History of World Cinema. HumRef PN 1993.5 .A1 O96 1996

Cinema Year by Year: 1894-2001. HumRef PN 1993.5 .A1 C566 2001

Shipman. The Story of Cinema: An Illustrated History. 2 vols. HumRef PN 1993.5 .A1 S52 1980

Yearbooks

International Motion Picture Almanac. (annual)1929-present. HumRef PN 1993.3 .I55 (latest 5 years @ HumRef)

Variety International Film Guide. 1989-present. HumRef PN 1993.3 .I544 (latest 5 years @ HumRef)

Filmographies

The Humanities Reference area only has a few filmographies; most are housed in the regular stacks.

Search in the Library Catalog using the following keywords: (topic or genre) and filmography or the subject heading s= motion pictures--catalogs

Examples: science fiction and filmography | spielberg and filmography

Benson. Vintage Science Fiction Films, 1896-1949. 1985. PZ 4 .A25 B46

Darby. Masters of Lens and Light: A Checklist of Major Cinematographers and their Feature Films. 1991. HumRef PN 1998.D285 1991

Garfield. Western Films: A Complete Guide. 1982. HumRef PN 1995.9 .W4 G3 1982

Ottoson. A Reference Guide to Film Noir: 1940-1958. HumRef PN 1995.9 .U6 O9

Sigoloff. Films of the Seventies: A Filmography of American, British, and Canadian Films, 1970-79. 1984. HumRef PN 1993.45 .S53 1984

Sloan. Alfred Hitchcock: A Guide to References and Resources. 1993. HumRef PN 1998.3 .H58 S57 1993

Wilt. The Mexican Filmography: 1916-2001. HumRef PN 1993.5 .M4 W55 2004

Telescope
A site to search, browse, and discover international film.
American Silent Feature Film Database
Contains information on nearly 11,000 U.S. feature films released between 1912-1929.

Film Adaptation Sources

Encyclopedia of Novels into Film, John C. Tibbetts (2005) - Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .T54 2005
Level 5
Encyclopedia of Stage Plays into Film, John C.Tibbetts (2001) - Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .T544 2001
Level 5
Enser's Filmed Books and Plays : a List of Books and Plays From Which Films Have Been Made, 1928-2001, Ellen Baskin (2003) - Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .X1 E55 2003
Level 5
Film as Literature, Literature as Film, An Introduction to and Bibliography of Film's Relationship to Literature. 1987. Humanities Reference PN 1995.3 .X1R67 1987
Hollywood and the Comics : Film Adaptations of Comic Books & Strips, David Hofstede (1991) - Humanities Reference PN 1995.9 .S3 H62x 1991
Level 5
Hollywood Novel and Other Novels about Film, 1912-1982: An Annotated Bibliography. 1985. Humanities Reference PN 1993.5 .L3X52 1983
International Guide to Literature on Film. 1994. Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .I58x 1994
MoreTheatre : Stage to Screen to Television, Marill, Alvin H. (1993) - Humanities Reference PN 2189 .M32 1993
More Theatre...1993-2001 at Humanities Reference PN 2189 .M32 2003
More Theatre III : Stage to Screen to Television, since 2001 at Humanities Reference PN 2190 .M37 2008
All on Level 5
Shakespeare Into Film, James Michael Welsh (2002) - Humanities Reference PR 3093 .W46 2002
Short Stories on Film and Video. 1985. Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .E45 1985

Get Help

4th Floor Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4

Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

Phone: 801.422.1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu

Librarian

Matthew Hill

Email Me

Contact:

5447 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602

801-422-2473

Subjects: Area Studies, History & Geography, Languages & Literature

Librarian

Elizabeth Smart

Contact:

On professional development leave through December 2024 (returning January 2025). For research assistance, please contact my colleagues listed on this page.

Subjects: Communications, Global Women's Studies, Humanities, Media Arts