Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film/Media Arts: Films in the Library

Films in the Library: Drama, Documentary, Comedy, International . . .

The Chaplin Revue (1959)

Howl's Moving Castle

On the Waterfront

Alfred Hitchcock's Notorious

Heart of a Dog

Nanook of the North

The Most Dangerous Game

Harold and Maude

12 Angry Men

It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World

DVDs and Blu-rays

                            Use the library's Video search to explore our collection of 15,000+ discs. DVDs and Blu-rays are available to check out from the Media Collection (north side of Level 4).

Don't have a disc player? We've got you covered. Use any of the library's computers with a media drive (including PAL viewing stations located near the Music & Dance Help Desk) or schedule a viewing room

We also have an extensive collection of films available for streaming. See below for a list of sources. 

Streaming Media

                streaming video

Kanopy streaming video collection includes more than 20,000 titles, with a focus on international, independent, and documentary films. Search by keyword or browse by genre.

National Film Board of Canada Free streaming of more than 3,000 documentaries, animations, experimental films, plus fiction and interactive works.
 

                            Filmakers Library Online (from Alexander Street Press) features nearly 1,000 issues-based documentaries and independent films from around the world, addressing race and gender studies, human rights, global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, and the environment.

PBS Video Collection (from Alexander Street Press) Find hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

BYU's L. Tom Perry Special Collections & Archives

Arts & Communications Archives   |   Film Music Archives
The Arts and Communications Archives acquires and preserves collections, with an emphasis in motion pictures, art, broadcasting, and journalism. BYU’s flagship collection of legendary film producer-director Cecil B. DeMille is replete with production, publicity, and personal files ranging from the days of DeMille’s playwright father in the late 1800s to DeMille’s death in 1959.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth Smart
Contact:
801-422-4995
5452 HBLL