What is a reference collection and how can it help me?
Reference works (encyclopedias, handbooks, companions, historical dictionaries) provide background information on important people, events, concepts, and topics central to a particular field of study. Using them will allow you to quickly acquire the essential information about a topic. Reference works often include bibliographies so you can explore the topic at a deeper level. They will also introduce you to research ideas you might never consider on your own.
BYU Library • Reference Collection Locations:
The Asian Studies Reference Collection is located on the two rows of shorter shelves situated in front of the main, taller, bookshelves on Level 4 in the Asian Collection. Humanities Reference is on Level 5 near the help desk, Social Sciences (on Level 1), and Religion (on Level 2). Ask at any help desk for assistance in locating the relevant reference collection. Many reference books only appear in digital format. These can be found by searching the library catalog.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Asian History
by
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History is overseen by David Ludden of New York University and an editorial board of subject experts, ensuring a comprehensive, encyclopedic map of the field.
Updated monthly, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History will grow with the field over time. Multi-media features embedded in articles, along with cross-referenced links to related content will further expand the scope of the ORE. With in-depth peer-reviewed articles and broad coverage of the field the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History will become an invaluable resource.
The Encyclopedia of Taiwan Studies contains almost 600 entries providing a portal to the multifaceted world of Taiwan history, politics, arts, literature, society, and culture.
This current version contains the first 5 of 15 projected sections. Brill will release of the rest of the content in two additional installments over 2025.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia (6 vols.)
Over 2,600 entries; besides the eBook there is a print copy of this encyclopedia which can be accessed in the Social Science Reference area on Level 1. Call Number: Soc Sci Ref DS 4 .L48 2002
Encyclopedia of Asian History
A print copy can also be accessed in the Social Science Reference area on Level 1. Call Number: DS 31 .E53 1988.
East Asia and the United States: An encyclopedia of relations since 1784
World War II in the Pacific
Stanley Sandler, one of America's most respected and best-known military historians, has brought together over 300 entries by some 200 specialists in the field to create the first encyclopedia specifically devoted to the Pacific Theatre of World War II. Extending far beyond battles and hardware, the coverage ranges from high policy-making, grand strategy, and the significant persons and battles of the conflict, to the organization of the Allied and Japanese divisions, aircraft, armor, artillery, psychological warfare, warships, and the home fronts, covering the interactions of each topic along the way.
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania
Physical copies available also available at: GN 625 .W47 2009
Routledge Handbook of Asian Transnationalism
by
Essays covering migration, diaspora, ethnicity, gender, language, education, politics, media, art, popular culture, and literature.
Encyclopedia of India (eBook), 4 vols. Published: 2006.
To access entries in this work, carefully follow this multi-step process:
1) Click this link to Gale Databases (opens in a new window) and type "Gale Ebooks" into the search box
2) Click the "Gale Ebooks" icon
3) Type "Encyclopedia of India" into the new search box.
4) Several entries from this encyclopedia will appear on screen, each entry contains an article title, Author, and "From: Encyclopedia of India." Click the "From: Encyclopedia of India" link and you will be taken to a search page.
5) Enter search terms in the "Search within this publication" box at the right of the screen.
Asia for Educators (Columbia University)
Provides materials for self-study or teaching: Central Themes, Primary Sources, Timelines
Provides excellent political, economic, and demographic information for more than 250 countries and territories. For Asian countries look for the relevant link on the "Regions Available" menu on the left side of the homepage.
The CIA World FactBook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 counties and other geo-political entities.
Ballard Briefs provide a holistic view of the complex challenges facing people worldwide through rigorous research and investigative analysis. The research focuses on the context, contributing factors, negative consequences, and best practices of each issue. Ballard Briefs act as an accessible starting point for readers to understand the nuances of each social problem presented in our database. The purpose of these briefs is to aid individuals looking to learn more about causes they care about. The Ballard Center also helps people start a nonprofit, launch a social venture, volunteer, or enhance corporate social responsibility initiatives. The briefs are written by undergraduate and graduate students who are paired with a highly trained editor to help them effectively educate others about social issues. (From the "Region" drop down menu, please select "Asia," "India," or "Pacific Islands").
Asian Development Outlook (ADB)
Encyclopedia of Religion (15 vols.)
by
Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
by
Handbook of East Asian New Religions Movements (2018). eBook.
Great Literature of the Eastern World
Masterworks of Asian Literature in Comparative Perspective
Bibliography of Performing Arts in the East (in Western languages)
A ten-part video documentary series produced by PBI contains excellent archival footage and commentary on the most important events involving Asia in the 20th century.
Often there are Whitehouse Press Conferences and US Congressional or Senate Hearings that discuss topics related to Asia. Use these databases to search for events and legislation relevant to your topic.
