This page is a work in progress. It will be revised and expanded over time.
Encyclopedia of India (eBook) S. A. Wolpert, ed. Published: 2006. Accessing this 4 vol. work that takes a little time, but its worth it. Carefully follow these instructions:
(1) Click this link to Gale Databases (opens in a new window)
(2) Type "Gale Ebooks" into the search box
(3) Click the "Gale Ebooks" icon
(4) Type "Encyclopedia of India" into the new search box.
(5) Several entries from this encyclopedia will appear on screen, each entry contains an article title, author, and "From: Encyclopedia of India." Click the "From: Encyclopedia of India" link and you will be taken to a search page. A "Search within this publication" search box appears at the right of the screen.
(6) Enter your search terms.
Handbook of India's International Relations, eBook (2011)
Conflict Between India and Pakistan by
This up-to-date encyclopedia examines the conflict between India and Pakistan from Independence to the present day, with an authoritative treatment that presents the issues evenhandedly and from both countries' perspectives. Tensions between India and Pakistan are deeply rooted. Many go back to 1947 or earlier, when, with the partitioning of the provinces of Punjab and Bengal, British India was succeeded by two independent countries: a primarily Hindu India and a Muslim Pakistan. Subsequently, the two countries have fought three wars and come close to open war several other times, especially over Kashmir. Conflict Between India and Pakistan begins with a discussion of the partition of India and those who figured prominently in it, notably: Mohammed Ali Jinnah, Clem Attlee, the last viceroy, Admiral Louis Mountbatten, and Jawaharlal Nehru. Then, in a series of evenhanded, carefully crafted portraits, it describes the people, political parties, foreign and domestic policies, and economic, religious, and cultural pressures that have played a role in the conflicts between these nations from 1947 to the present.
Encyclopedia of Women in South Asia (8 vols.) by
v. 1. India
v. 2. Pakistan
v. 3 Bangladesh
v. 4. Afghanistan
v. 5. Sri Lanka
v. 6. Nepal
v. 7. Bhutan
v. 8 Maldives.
Routledge Handbook of Gender in South Asia by 
South Asian Folklore by
With 600 signed, alphabetically organized articles covering the entirety of folklore in South Asia, this new resource includes countries and regions, ethnic groups, religious concepts and practices, artistic genres, holidays and traditions, and many other concepts. A preface introduces the material, while a comprehensive index, cross-references, and black and white illustrations round out the work. The focus on south Asia includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, with short survey articles on Tibet, Bhutan, Sikkim, and various diaspora communities. This unique reference will be invaluable for collections serving students, scholars, and the general public.
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of South Asian Christianity (2 vols.) by
Today, a large section of the global Christian population is located in Africa, Latin America, and Asia. This encyclopaedia documents the historic presence and contributions of Christianity in India and its neighbouring South Asian countries (Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives). In addition, the volume includes entries on Afghanistan and Myanmar and on the global South Asian diaspora. Looking at richarchival material, the work documents the extensive apostolic heritage and the growth of the indigenous church in the post-colonial era, including that of the recent recent upsurge of the Christianity in some regions (for example, in North-East India and in Nepal), and a proliferation of churches ofindigenous origin. Broadly covering events, people, institutions, concepts, theological issues, churches, denominations, historical developments, and contemporary themes, the topics have been addressed keeping in view the South Asian context, its nuances and distinctiveness.
Encyclopedia of Religion (15 vols)
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion. South Asia and Southeast Asia by 
Encyclopaedia of Hindi Cinema by
This title begins with seven essays providing a historical analysis of Hindi films. It then carries on to provide insight into the Indian film industry's internal dynamics. It also includes special contributions from prominent figures in the industry and interviews with Hindi film legends.
Encyclopedia of Indian Cinema by
First Published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music (3 vols.) of India by
Comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date, this three-volume Encyclopedia covers the story of music spread across 2000 years. From entries on classical, folk, film, and other forms of music to details of all forms of dance, raga, tala, gharana, treatises, technical terms, and instruments as well as short biographies of vocalists, musicologists, saint poets, gurus, composers, and instrumentalists - the range and breadth of the Encyclopedia is immense. With 5000 entries by around 100 acclaimed contributors, the volume spans all regions of India: from Assam, Meghalaya, and Manipur to Gujarat, and from Kashmir to Kerala. The music of the Subcontinent, including Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka also finds a place. A vast collaborative effort spanning 12 years and supported by an extended group of around 250 musicians, musicologists, scholars, and teachers of music from India and the world, the Encyclopedia includes more than 200 photographs from family albums and private collections as well as line drawings of rare instruments. The text and visuals blend to extend our understanding of the many modes and moods of the music of India. Developed by the Sangit Mahabharati, Mumbai, and initiated by the late Pandit Nikhil Ghosh, this first-of-its-kind Encyclopedia will be indispensable for practicing musicians and students and teachers of Indian music in all its forms. Music connoisseurs, amateurs, and anybody keen to know more about India, her history and culture, will come across a wealth of information not found elsewhere. Library Journal Best Reference 2011
Bibliography of Performing Arts in the East (in Western languages) Includes studies about India and other South Asian countries.
BYU South Asian Student Association
Instagram: @southasia21
Basic Hindi an online, interactive, theme-based textbook for the true beginner of Hindi language. It promotes communicative, linguistic, and cultural competence. It has mixture of pedagogical approaches to fit all types of learning and teaching philosophies/styles to achieve intermediate low to mid ACTFL proficiency level within a semester.
Sources of Indian Tradition (vol. 2) Modern India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. 3rd edition (2014). eBook.
SAOA is a collaborative, open-access resource for research, teaching, and learning about South Asia containing over 30,000 digital items and access to 13 manuscript collections. The member-driven collection includes historical and contemporary sources from and about the region in arts, humanities, social sciences, history of science, and other fields in English and other South Asian languages.
1947 Partition Archive: Survivors and Their Memories, Stanford University Library. More than 9,000 interview exist in the archive, 51 of these appear in video format on the website. Twenty-seven of these are in English. The interviews were made between 2010 and 2018.
Stanford University Partition Archive interviews and transcripts.
Ramayan (1987) Television Series with English Subtitles Youtube (78 Episodes, 30 minutes each) directed by Ramanand Sagar (1917–2005). This television series, which dramatizes the entire story of the Ramayana, is India's most watched television series of all time.
