Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ways to Search For Books
1949-present. Indexes books and periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and paleography etc.
Oxford Bibliographies - Classics
Growing set of bibliographies by classical scholars on topics ranging from individual authors such as Aeschylus and Ovid to historical figures such as Alexander the Great to broad topics such as papyrology or epigraphy. Each bibliography includes a brief introductory essay (including biographies or historical overviews) and citations to the most important books and articles on the topic.
BYU Library Catalog
Alphabetical, call number, keyword, and other searches of the library collections can be done here.
Other Libraries, including WorldCat
Search catalogs of other libraries. You can search specific libraries (academic or public) or national consortia of libraries such as Worldcat.
If the Lee Library does not have the book you need, you can order it through Interlibrary Loan Services. Fill out an online request for the materials, and be sure to allow enough time for arrival (about a week).
Theses & Dissertations
Search the BYU Library catalog for BYU theses & dissertations. For other theses and dissertations, search the following database:
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
1861-Current. Access to the citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses published through UMI Dissertation Publishing. The service also provides access to 24 page previews & full text in PDF format (1997+).
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection approaching 17 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including around 7 million available as full-text online.
BYU has joined more than 100 international academic and research libraries as a partner in HathiTrust. For more details about the kinds of content in HathiTrust and to visualize by call numbers, languages, or dates, see Statistics and Visualizations.
L'Année Philologique index entries for books include citations for reviews, if any.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review is an online database of reviews, searchable by author or title.
Journals that specialize in or include extensive sections of reviews of classical studies books include
♦ L'antiquité classique
♦ Anzeiger für die Altertumswissenschaft
♦ Classical review
♦ Les études classiques
♦ Greece and Rome
♦ Journal of Hellenic Studies
♦ Journal of Roman archaeology
♦ Journal of Roman Studies
♦ Museum Helveticum
♦ Revue de philologie
♦ Revue des études latines
♦ Times literary supplement (reviews classics books with a general interest)
New Books in the Lee Library
Lee Library Scholar Search
Loeb Classical Library
Loeb Classical Library
The authors in the Loeb Classical Library span eighteen centuries and every genre. Their continued popularity into the twenty–first century marks the fact that more people are reading the classics in translation than ever before. The digital Loeb Classical Library continues the historic mission of making all that is important in Greek and Latin literature available to readers anywhere in the world—with accurate, literate, English translations.