This page is a work in progress; additional content coming soon.
BYU subscribes to two platforms for supplementing foreign language studies.
Click the Mango or Pronunciator logos provided below to explore.
Mango is an online platform offering instruction in over 70 different languages.
You can explore the site as a guest or create a free account to save your progress.
Type Chinese into the "Pick a Language" box to see what resources are available.
You can also get a Mango APP for your handheld device.
Pronunciator is an online platform offering instruction in over 80 different languages.
Try it with "instant access" then type Chinese in the "I want to learn _________." box.
If you want to save your progress, sign up for a free individual account.
You can also get a Pronunciator APP for your handheld device.
For your Chinese to English, English to Chinese, and Chinese to Chinese dictionary needs, I recommend that you download the Pleco App to your device. There are many excellent features and dictionaries that can be purchased within the App.
Oxford English-Chinese & Chinese-English Dictionary
You may need to login with your BYU NetID. When prompted, select "Chinese" from among the dictionary choices.
A Cultural Dictionary of the Chinese Language by
A Cultural Dictionary of the Chinese Language introduces the 500 most important cultural traits of the Chinese as reflected in language use, especially in Chinese idioms (chengyu), proverbs and colloquial expressions (suyu). Communicative competence, the ultimate goal of language learning, consists of not only linguistic, but intercultural competence, which enables the language learner to speak with fluency and understanding. The Chinese language is richly imbued with cultural wisdoms and values underlying the appropriateness of idioms in the Chinese language. The Dictionary provides Intermediate and B1-C1 level learners as well as scholars of the Chinese language with an essential reference book as well as a useful cultural reader.
In 2013, the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China published a table of 8,105 standard characters.
Click here for access to the list:
通用規範漢字表 (Current Standard Chinese Character Chart)
Here is a Wikisource copy of the chart
Click here to download a PDF of the list (100 MB)
The list is divided into three tiers, the first 3,500 characters comprise the most common characters.
After the list of 8,105 characters you will find a comprehensive list of standard simplified characters compared with their traditional (繁體) forms.
Finally, there is also a second list of all 8,105 characters organized by the number of strokes in each character.
Dictionary of Chinese Character Variants
Enter a Chinese character to see the various ways the character has been written. You can also find a character by using the number of strokes in the "radical" to drill down to the appropriate graph.
Developing Advanced Proficiency in Chinese Through Debate by 
The Chinese Pod Podcast provides access to hundreds of free 15 minute lessons (audio only) on a variety of topics. Three levels, each with over 300 episodes each, Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced. Download the appropriate podcast on Apple or Google Play. In addition, the Chinese Pod Website provides access to 4,000+ lessons with transcriptions, vocabulary lists, and other study helps. Full access requires $14/month.
Advanced Modern Chinese: Learning Through Contemporary Film by We have eBooks and printed books to help you make progress in your study of the Cantonese language. A few options appear below. Physical books can be found on Level 5 in the call number area PL 1733. If you need help finding a book, please visit any Helpdesk in the library.
Colloquial Cantonese by
COLLOQUIAL CANTONESE is easy to use and completely up to date Specially written by experienced teachers for self-study or class use, the course offers a step-by-step approach to written and spoken Cantonese. No prior knowledge of the language is required. What makes COLLOQUIAL CANTONESE your best choice in personal language learning? Interactive lots of exercises for regular practice Clear concise grammar notes Practical useful vocabulary and pronunciation guide Complete including answer key and reference section Whether you're a business traveller, or about to take up a daring challenge in adventure tourism, you may be studying to teach or even looking forward to a holiday - if you'd like to get up and running with Cantonese this rewarding course will take you from complete beginner to confidently putting your language skills to use in a wide range of everyday situations The complete course comprises the book and audio materials. These are available to purchase separately in paperback, ebook, CD and MP3 format. The paperback and CDs can also be purchased together in the great-value Colloquials pack. Paperback: 978-0-415-47886-1 (please note this does not include the audio) CDs: 978-0-415-47888-5 eBook: 978-0-203-85476-1 (Please note this does not include the audio. Available to purchase separately from http: //www.ebookstore.tandf.co.uk/) MP3s: 978-0-415-56970-5 (available to purchase separately from http: //www.ebookstore.tandf.co.uk/) Pack: 978-0-415-47887-8 (paperback and CDs)"
Modern Cantonese Book 1 by
The first volume of Modern Cantonese aims to provide solid linguistic training to beginner Cantonese learners, highlighting cultural points with lively language scenarios. This book provides daily conversational scenarios, such as introducing yourself and others, ordering food, going out with friends, shopping, planning a weekend, talking about hobbies and leisure activities, as well as holidays and festivals. The scenarios cover daily settings with essential learning points, and on completion of the course, learners will be able to understand questions and statements in Cantonese conversations, and will be able to discuss familiar everyday topics using simple sentences in Cantonese. The book is ideal for students seeking to learn Cantonese as a second language at the novice level, based on ACTFL speaking proficiency guidelines. It may also be of interest to language teachers and linguists in the field of Cantonese as a second language.
Modern Cantonese Book 2 by
The second volume of Modern Cantonese aims to facilitate learners in understanding the main ideas expressed in conversations and discussions, as well as exchanging information. This book is structured around situational scenarios, which cover informal and semi-formal settings in daily activities and work-related situations. After completing this volume, learners will be able to understand conversations and discussions relating to a range of activities in Hong Kong, Macau, and Shenzhen. This book is targeted at intermediate learners of Cantonese, whilst language teachers and linguists interested in Cantonese as a second language may also find it informative.
Modern Cantonese Book 3 by
The third volume of Modern Cantonese aims to broaden learners' Cantonese language skills by teaching students how to deal with, discuss, persuade, and summarize topics related to sophisticated work-related situations. This book provides scenarios talking about abstract topics, as well as cultural and social issues in both formal and semi-formal settings. Learners gain the skills to discuss a variety of complex topics and abstract issues. This book is designed for intermediate to advanced learners who have reached Intermediate Mid (ACTFL) or B1 (CEFR) proficiency. Language teachers, linguists, and researchers interested in Cantonese as a second Language may also find the book informative.
Basic Cantonese: A Grammar and Workbook (2nd edn.) by
Basic Cantonese introduces the essentials of Cantonese grammar in a straightforward and systematic way. Each of the 28 units deals with a grammatical topic and provides associated exercises, designed to put grammar into a communicative context. Special attention is paid to topics which differ from English and European language structures. This new edition features: * clear, accessible format * lively examples to illustrate each grammar point * informative keys to all exercises * glossary of grammatical terms Basic Cantonese is ideal for students new to the language. Together with its sister volume, Intermediate Cantonese, it forms a structured course of the essentials of Cantonese grammar.
Cantonese: a Comprehensive Grammar by
Cantonese: A Comprehensive Grammar is a complete reference guide to Cantonese as spoken by native speakers in Hong Kong. It presents a fresh and accessible description of the language, concentrating on the real patterns of use in current Cantonese. This makes it the ideal reference source for all learners and users of Cantonese, irrespective of level, in schools, colleges, universities and adult classes of all types. Moreover, it will provide a lasting and reliable resource for all fluent speakers of the language. The book is organized to promote a thorough understanding of Cantonese grammar. Arranged by both syntactic categories and language functions, the Grammar provides an in-depth treatment of structures and pays special attention to idiom and speech registers, including trendy language. Explanations are full, clear and free of jargon. A glossary, extensive index and generous use of cross-references provide readers with easy access to the information they require. Features include: comprehensive pronunciation section full use of examples from films, advertising and authentic conversations Cantonese-English parallels highlighted throughout the book all examples given in Cantonese characters as well as Yale romanization a Companion Website with supplementary multimedia material. Stephen Matthews is Associate Professor in Linguistics at the University of Hong Kong and Virginia Yip is Professor in the Department of Linguistics and Modern Languages at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. They are Directors of the Childhood Bilingualism Research Centre and have previously co-authored: Basic Cantonese: A Grammar and Workbook (Routledge, 1999) and Intermediate Cantonese: A Grammar and Workbook (Routledge, 2000).
Apps for Learning Asian Languages
Chinese Pod Podcast provides access to hundreds of free 15 minute lessons (audio only) on a variety of topics. Three levels, each with over 300 episodes each, Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced. In addition, the Chinese Pod website provides access to 4,000+ lessons with transcriptions, vocabulary lists, and other study helps. Full access requires $14/month.
Business Skills: Learn Mandarin Chinese (Wyoming Attorney) This website provides several useful links to websites that host content for learning modern Mandarin Chinese.
Speak Chinese Naturally 自然而然說中文 Podcast for the advanced learner.
Listening Makes Perfect 听一听 This site from the University of Kansas Open Resource Language Center is designed to help beginning Chinese language students improve their pronunciation and Romanization skills.
Improve Chinese Fluency This site, created by BYU Professor Rachel Yu Liu 刘瑜, is designed to help advanced students of Chinese improve reading, writing, and presentation skills.
Hacking Chinese: A Better Way to Learn Mandarin
Many excellent resources for learning and improving your Mandarin Chinese skills.
Slow Chinese News Letter by Andrew Methven
Discussions of contemporary topics, idioms, and slang for advancing your Chinese skills.
Singapore Slang (Shinglish) List of 50 Useful Phrases
Scroll down to find "The Ultimate Singlish Guide"
A text-based adventure game for improving your intermediate Chinese reading and listening skills.
Voice of America (VOA) is the largest U.S. international broadcaster, reaching an estimated weekly audience of more than 280 million people. Since its creation in 1942, Voice of America has been committed to providing comprehensive coverage of the news and telling audiences the truth free of political interference. VOA is part of the U.S. Agency for Global Media (USAGM), the government agency that oversees all non-military, U.S. international broadcasting. It is funded by the U.S. Congress. VOA broadcasts in Mandarin, Cantonese, and Tibetan.
