Subject Guides: Chinese Studies: Articles

Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

A List of Useful Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

Use the databases listed below to search for scholarly articles on your research topic. Hovering over the "info" icon will reveal details about each database. For some very helpful tips on how to conduct a successful database search, click Here.

TIP: Use multiple databases when searching for articles related to your research project as each database has different coverage and unique features.

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window This database indexes books and articles from around the world on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia. Coverage is from 1971 to the present.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women's studies, zoology and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database focuses on humanities, social science, and science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines. It also searches ARTstor.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This database offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA),it dates back to the 1920s and contains citations from more than 4,400 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search for peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, abstracts and papers, from academic publishers, professional societies, universities, and other scholarly organizations. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database accesses Science, Social Science, and Arts and Humanities content gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Contains content from 1974 to the present.
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Access full-text PhD Dissertations and Master's Theses from 4,100 universities in over 60 countries.

Databases for Finding Articles in Chinese

The CNKI Database (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) is an indispensable database for finding full-text scholarly articles in Chinese. Use this database to access 1,574 academic journals in Chinese that focus on literature, history, and philosophy.

China Online Journals (COJ) by Wanfang Data provides access to thousands of scholarly articles from Chinese academic journals. Topics covering include Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Computer Sciences, Medicine, Humanities, and Social Sciences. Most articles can be downloaded directly to your device from the site. Searching is done in Chinese.

National Social Sciences Database (China) Provides current access to the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) core journals. Many journals provide full text links to article PDF files, others just provide citations (use Interlibrary Loan to get a copy of the article). To make use of some features, and to download some full text articles, you will need to create a personal username and password.

Airiti Library: Search this database to find citations for articles published in academic journals from Taiwan. After discovering an article you want, order it through Interlibrary Loan; this database does not provide access to full text articles.

Open Access Records for Chinese Studies Open access digitized Chinese texts, journal articles, and books from China, Japan, Macau, and Hong Kong.