Reference works provide background information on important people, events, concepts, and topics central to a particular field of study—in this case Chinese Studies. These kinds of materials have different names. The most common name is "encyclopedia" bit they are also sometimes called "handbooks," "dictionaries," and "companions." The reference works listed below are specific to Chinese Studies. Reading them can also introduce you to research ideas you might never consider on your own.
Chinese History: A New Manual by
An indispensable resources for understanding China and discovering scholarship on almost anything related to Chinese history (2,152 pages). Volume 1 covers topics ranging from Language, Education, and the Arts, to Science, Technology, and the Environment. Volume 2 presents primary and secondary sources chronologically by period from the Neolithic to 1976.
The Encyclopedia of Taiwan Studies contains almost 600 entries providing a portal to the multifaceted world of Taiwan, with its vibrant culture, important developments, and radical transformations.
This version of the online Encyclopedia, contains 5 of its 15 sections. Release of the rest of the content is planned in two additional installments, to take place in the course of 2024.
Encyclopedia of Modern China, David Pong (ed.). 4 vols. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2009. Ebook.
Accessing and searching this encyclopedia is a bit tricky. Follow these instructions:
(1) Click the link provided above, this will take you to Gale E-books "Advanced Search."
(2) Change search criteria from "Keywords" to "Publication Title" enter "Encyclopedia of Modern China."
(3) Click on the publication title link "Encyclopedia of Modern China" that appears in any entry that you see; this will take you to a search page for this 4 vol. work.
(4) Enter search terms in the box at the right of the screen that reads "Search within this publication." You can also click on the link "List of Topics" at the left side of the screen to browse a list of individual entries.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China (5 vols.)
Brill's Encyclopedia of China
Encyclopedia of Chinese-American Relations by 
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture by 
China Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic by 
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia (6 vols.) by 
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania
The Columbia Guide to Modern Chinese History by
Contains a historical narrative providing a comprehensive overview of domestic politics, society, the economy, the world of culture and thought, and relations with the outside world.
A compendium of 250 short, descriptive articles on key figures, events, and terms.
A resource guide containing 500 annotated entries for the most authoritative sources for further research in English, as well as descriptions of important films depicting modern China and a guide to electronic resources.
Appendices, including a chronology, excerpts from key primary source documents, and a wealth of tables and graphs on demographic, social, and economic trends.
Chinese Encyclopedia
Zhongguo dabaike quanshu 中国大百科全书 Two copies. Location: Level 4, Asian Reference and in the regular Asian Collection.
Routledge Handbook of Chinese Culture and Society by 
The Routledge Handbook of Chinese Studies by 
Routledge Handbook of the Chinese Diaspora by 
Understanding Contemporary China by 
China at War by
This comprehensive volume traces the Chinese military and its experiences over the past 2,500 years, describing clashes with other kingdoms and nations as well as internal rebellions and revolutions. As the first book of its kind, China at War: An Encyclopedia expands far beyond the conventional military history book that is focused on describing key wars, battles, military leaders, and influential events. Author Xiaobing Li--an expert writer in the subjects of Asian history and military affairs--provides not only a broad, chronological account of China's long military history, but also addresses Chinese values, concepts, and attitudes regarding war. As a result, readers can better understand the wider sociopolitical history of the most populous and one of the largest countries in the world--and grasp the complex security concerns and strategic calculations often behind China's decision-making process. This encyclopedia contains an introductory essay written to place the reference entries within a larger contextual framework, allowing students to compare Chinese with Western and American views and approaches to war. Topics among the hundreds of entries by experts in the field include Sunzi's classic The Art of War, Mao Zedong's guerrilla warfare in the 20th century, Chinese involvement in the Korean War and Vietnam War, and China's nuclear program in the 21st century.
Routledge Handbook of Sport in China by
This volume comprehensively covers both historical and contemporary issues of sport in China The book addresses the development of sport in contemporary China-- that has not yet attracted sufficient scholarly interests despite rising attention to economic, cultural, leisure and social development in Chinese society. Provides a comprehensive review as to the state- and market-led transformations in China's elite, mass, and industrial sport sectors. The book brings in up to date topics such as sport, leisure and tourism, sport and overseas Chinese, as well as sport studies research in China. The first volume that employs a diversity of angles to look at sport in China.
The Routledge Handbook of Sport in Asia by
This is the first book to offer a comprehensive overview of the history, development and contemporary significance of sport in Asia. It addresses a wide range of issues central to sport in the context of Asian culture, politics, economy and society. The book explores diverse topics, including the history of traditional Asian sport; the rise of modern sport in Asia; the Olympic Movement in Asia; mega sport events in Asia; sport governance and policy; gender, class and ethnicity in Asian sport, and Asia's sporting heroes and heroines. With contributions from 74 leading international scholars, it offers a new perspective on understanding Asian sport and society, telling the story of how sport in this mega-region is coming together and reshaping the world in the process. It also provides readers with a wide lens through which to better contextualise the relationships between Asia and the world within the global sport community. The Routledge Handbook of Sport in Asia is a vital resource for students and scholars studying the history, politics, sociology, culture and policy of sport in Asia, as well as sport management, sport history, sport sociology, and sport policy and politics. It is also valuable reading for those working in international sport organisations.
A Biographical Dictionary of the Qin, Former Han and Xin Periods, 221 BC - AD 24 by 
A Biographical Dictionary of Later Han to the Three Kingdoms (23-220 AD) by 
Historical Dictionary of Medieval China by 
Dictionary of Ming Biography, 1368-1644 by 
Eminent Chinese of the Ch'Ing Period, 1644-1912 by 
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women: Qing to 20th Century (1644–2000) by 
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women: Antiquity through Sui (1200 BC–AD 618) by 
Berkshire Dictionary of Chinese Biography by History of Contemporary Chinese Art 1949 to the Present (2020) by Zhou Yan. eBook.
Includes the following chapters:
Research Quick Start Guides
Detailed information on each part of the research process. Picking a topic
Descriptions and links to resources to help you do your research.
Excellent, quick modules that make sense of what you need to do to be successful in your research.
Trained consultants help you in any part of the research and writing process - for free!
For your Chinese to English, English to Chinese, and Chinese to Chinese dictionary needs, I recommend that you download the Pleco App to your device. There are many excellent features and dictionaries that can be purchased within the App.
Oxford English-Chinese & Chinese-English Dictionary
You may need to login with your BYU NetID. When prompted, select "Chinese" from among the dictionary choices.
A Cultural Dictionary of the Chinese Language by
A Cultural Dictionary of the Chinese Language introduces the 500 most important cultural traits of the Chinese as reflected in language use, especially in Chinese idioms (chengyu), proverbs and colloquial expressions (suyu). Communicative competence, the ultimate goal of language learning, consists of not only linguistic, but intercultural competence, which enables the language learner to speak with fluency and understanding. The Chinese language is richly imbued with cultural wisdoms and values underlying the appropriateness of idioms in the Chinese language. The Dictionary provides Intermediate and B1-C1 level learners as well as scholars of the Chinese language with an essential reference book as well as a useful cultural reader.
ABC Chinese-English Comprehensive Dictionary by Comprehensive Dictionaries (Multiple Volumes)
Hanyu da cidian 汉语大词典 (Comprehensive Dictionary of Chinese Words)
Asian Reference PL 1420 .H26 1987 (12 vols.)
Hanyu da zidian 汉语大字典 (Comprehensive Dictionary of Chinese Characters)
Asian Reference PL 1420 .H26 1986 (10 vols.)
Dai Kanwa jiten 大漢和辞典 (Morohashi) Definitions in Japanese
Asian Reference PL 681.C5 M6 1966 (13 vols).
Zhongwen da cidian 中文大辭典 (Comprehensive Chinese Dictionary)
Asian Reference PL 1420 .C57 (40 vols).
Asian Reference PL 1420 .T86 1979 (3 vols.)
The State of China Atlas by
This atlas provides a unique visual survey of the economic, political, and social changes taking place in China, as well as their implications for the world at large.
A print version can be consulted at Call number: G 2305 .B4 2009) 2nd floor.
The State of China Atlas by
This volume provides information on China's new wealth, growing unemployment, migration to the cities, and trade disputes, demographic challenges, human rights, political stability; energy needs, and the environment. Maps and graphics illustrate current trends in the gender gap, national minorities, traffic, investment, marriage and divorce, education, religion, disease, aging, cell phone use, etc.
Digital Collections for Chinese Studies Over 100 collections of digitized materials with collection locations mapped to an interactive map. You can search for institutions with collections by clicking on a location. There are also many ways to limit search criteria. Organized and maintained by George Washington University under the leadership of Yan He. To suggest a collection to add see this site.
