This page is a work in progress. Expect additional material to be added regularly. If you have a suggestion on content that should be added to this site or of you need help finding resources for your research project, please contact the Asian Studies Librarian, Tim Davis (4523 HBLL) timothy_davis@byu.edu
Routledge Handbook of Modern Chinese Literature by 
The Oxford Handbook of Modern Chinese Literatures by 
A New Literary History of Modern China by 
The Cambridge History of Chinese Literature by
This is a two volume set (volume 2 covers modern Chinese literature from 1375 to the present). The books are located in the Humanities Reference section on Level 5. Call number: PL 2265 .C36 2010 vol.2
If you have trouble finding it, ask at the help desk.
Historical Dictionary of Modern Chinese Literature (2010) eBook.
Print version also available: PL 2303 .Y59 2010 (5th floor, Humanities Reference)
Historical Dictionary of Chinese Theatre, 2nd ed. (2012) eBook.
Print version also available: PN 2871 .Y46 2008 (5th floor, Humanities Reference)
Historical Dictionary of Chinese Cinema (2012) eBook.
Print version also available: PN 1993.5 .C4 Y43 2012 (5th floor, Humanities Reference)
Film and Literature Magazines from the Internet Archive
電影日報 (Dianying ribao) Film Daily 1940–1941
電影時報 (Dianying shibao) Film Times 1932–1933; 200+ issues
上海影壇 (Shanghai yingtan) Shanghai Cinema 1943–1945
獨立評論 (Duli pinglun) The Independent Critic 1932–1937; 243 issues, Edited by Hu Shi.
文學 (Wenxue) Literature, 1933–1937
新青年 (Xin qingnian) New Youth (La Jeunesse) 1915–1926; 60+ issues
星期 (Xingqi) The Sunday 1922–1923 edited by Bao Tianxiao, associated with the “Mandarin Ducks and Butterflies” genre; 48 issues
Chinese Film Classics Project Includes bibliographies, lectures, and other resources, including links to twenty full-length films available to watch on Youtube
Eileen Chang 張愛玲 (1920–1995) "In a Bronze Mirror: Eileen Chang's Life and Literature" (University of Southern California). Curated by USC students, this online exhibition features items from Zhang Ailing (Eileen Chang) Papers in the USC Digital Library and the Eileen Chang Collection at the University of Hong Kong's University Archives. It is organized by Jenny Lin (Associate Professor of Critical Studies, USC Roski School of Art and Design) and Tang Li (Chinese Studies Librarian, USC Libraries) in association with the virtual conference titled "Love, Lust, Caution: A Centennial Celebration of the Cross-Cultural Legacies of Eileen Chang" hosted by USC on November 20, 2020.
A useful website for staying up to date on developments in modern Chinese fiction and translation.
Xu Dishan Collection (Australia National University)
The West: A Translation by Utah Poet Laureate Paisley Rekdal
In 2019, Paisley Rekdal was commissioned to write a poem commemorating the 150th anniversary of the transcontinental railroad’s completion. The result is “West: A Translation:” a linked collection of poems that respond to a Chinese elegy carved into the walls of the Angel Island Immigration Station where Chinese migrants to the United States were detained. “West” translates this elegy character by character through the lens of Chinese and other transcontinental railroad workers’ histories, and through the railroad’s cultural impact on America.
Lyrik Line is an international website for experiencing the diversity of contemporary poetry. Here you can listen to the melodies, sounds, and rhythms of international poetry, recited by the authors themselves, and read the poems both in their original languages and various translations. Upon navigating to the website, use the drop down menus to search for "Chinese" poetry.
Unofficial Poetry Journals from China
Leiden University Libraries has made several unofficial poetry journals from China accessible online. [Once you click the link, click on the "Show all items" box to view individual issues.] Collected by Professor Maghiel van Crevel, the issues available come from privately published and difficult to find journals ranging from the legendary and solemn Today 今天 to the equally legendary, yet down-to-earth Them 他们; from the feminist Wings 翼 to The Lower Body 下半身, a macho posse (albeit with a healthy dose of self-mockery); and from the polemical and headstrong Not Not 非非 (Sichuan) to Poetry and People 诗歌与人 (Guangdong), which welcomes the full gamut of poetics styles and perspectives.
These unofficial publications go back to an underground circuit during the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976), when overground culture was little more than an instrument of political ideology. In the late seventies, this writing came out into the open. This led to an explosion of innovation and experiment that quickly outshone state-sponsored literature, especially among younger readers. Just about every Chinese poet who matters today first published in the unofficial circuit. Unofficial poetry journals are a fascinating area of research in the study of Chinese and comparative literature, from textual analysis to issues in the sociology of culture.
Modern Chinese Stories and Novellas, 1919 to 1949 by
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Hundreds of concise biographies written by experts in the field.
Search these online versions by author name.
Vol. 328: “Chinese Fiction Writers 1900–1949” (Thomas Moran, ed.) 2007. eBook
Print version also available: HUM REF PN 451 .A6 vol.328
Vol. 370: "Chinese Fiction Writers, 1950–2000" (Thomas Moran and Ye Xu, eds.) 2013. eBook
Print version also available: HUM REF PN 451 .A6 vol.370
Vol. 387: "Chinese Poets Since 1949" (Christopher Lupke and Thomas Moran, eds.) 2021. eBook
Print version also available: HUM REF PN 451 .A6 vol.387
Vol. 312: "Asian American Writers" (Deborah Madsen, ed.) 2005. eBook
Print version also available: HUM REF PN 451 .A6 vol.312