This group deserves a separate entry as an interesting contrast to current advertising practice. From the site: "We are a global network of artists, activists, writers, pranksters, students, educators and entrepreneurs who want to advance the new social activist movement of the information age."

Internet portal to the advertising, marketing and communications industry, with direct links to 18390 agencies in 136 countries. Some restricted access, but includes searchable database of ads.

The Archives, housed at the UIUC Libraries, include both the finished advertisements themselves and materials on policy and campaign formation. Materials include both print and television and radio advertisements; holdings are in a number of formats, including 35 mm film, videocassette, reel-to-reel, and compact disc, as well as print proofs and posters. The collection also includes minutes, notes, and correspondence, allowing the researcher to discover the story behind the ads.

This site presents evidence-based advertising principles that were abstracted from typical practice, expert opinion, and empirical studies. The site is divided into five sections: Creating ads, evaluating ads, media planning, presenting ad proposals, and evaluating ad proposals.

A portal page with an extensive list of links to advertising and marketing websites, organizations, online newsletters, and research resources.

This free resource provides articles and statistics on advertisers, advertising placements, and forecasts.

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource provides data on consumer demographics and expenditure patterns. A wide variety of reports and tables are available for download.

The D'Arcy Collection includes almost two million original advertisements published between 1890 and 1970, and is a rich source of research information on products advertised by many agencies. While the vast majority of these advertisements appeared in newspapers, magazines and trade journals, there are a few in other forms such as brochures, signs, and programs. Also included are ads from organizational and governmental advertisers such as the American Red Cross, New York City's Lincoln Center,

Another site from Duke University that antedates the AdAccess site listed above. Presents over 9000 images from 1850-1920 relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

Includes highlights from the Motion Picture Library at the Library of Congress. Covers a variety of television advertisements, never-broadcast outtakes, and experimental footage reflecting the historical development of television advertising for a major commercial product. Indexed and keyword searchable.

As a section of the WWW Virtual Library, this site offers resources for designing advertisements and for coordinating advertising campaigns. It also provides resources for direct marketing, Internet advertising, and public relations.

Features over 20,000 international print ads from the magazine in a searchable database.

Presents images and database information for approx. 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. Covers the evolution of images from the 1910's through the 1950's.

The Archives Center has nationally recognized collections for the study of advertising and marketing, including advertising cards, posters, labels, letterheads, booklets, trade catalogues, and other ephemera. The collection is organized into 538 subject and geographic categories (primarily manufactured products) and is strongest for the period 1840-1900. Other large collections of commercial ephemera include greeting cards, matchbooks, sports trading cards, postcards, and cigarette packaging.