Skip to Main Content

Advertising: Historical Sources

Market Research History

American Consumer Culture This link opens in a new window
Provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. (1935 - 1965)

World Wide Web

Wayback Machine
Searchable archive of websites.

Magazine Archives

General Interest

National Geographic Magazine (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-color, searchable database. Travel, science, history, environment, photography, peoples, and cultures.

National Geographic (1888 - present)
National Geographic Traveler (2010 - present)
National Geographic History (2019 - present)

News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (PQ) This link opens in a new window
15 major magazines, including the Newsweek archive covering international relations and public policy. (1918 - 2015)

Fashion & Lifestyle

Harper's Bazaar Archive (PQ) This link opens in a new window
Full-color, searchable database chronicles more than 150 years of fashion, culture, and society. (1867 - present)
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-color, searchable database of articles, covers, photo shoots, illustrations, and advertisements. (1892 - present)

Women's Magazines

Women's Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Monthly issues cover social, historical, and cultural trends in the areas of business, marketing, fashion, women's studies, design, and illustration.

Better Homes and Gardens (1922 - 2005)
Chatelaine (1928 - 2005)
Good Housekeeping (1885 - 2005)
Ladies' Home Journal (1883 - 2005)
Parents (1926 - 2005)
Redbook (1903 - 2005)

Historical

Frank Leslie's Weekly This link opens in a new window
American illustrated literary and news publication combining elements of war, politics, art, science, travel and exploration, literature and the fine arts in each issue. (1855 - 1922)

Liberty Magazine
American illustrated weekly magazine covering popular topics of the time. (1924 - 1950)

Punch Magazine Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
British magazine of humor and satire. (1841 - 1992)

Trade Publications

Women's Wear Daily (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Focused on fashion and clothing retail. (1910 - 2023)
Variety Archives This link opens in a new window
Focused on entertainment industries.

For access: click "Account" in upper right corner, then "Welcome Brigham Young University." (1905 - present)

Harper's Bazaar US edition (1867 - present)
Harper's Bazaar UK edition (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar.

Children's Magazines

Children’s Magazine Archive, 1866-2020 (PQ) This link opens in a new window
Incudes titles focusing on education, entertainment, literature, news, and religion.

3-2-1 Contact (1979 - 1996)
The Boy's Own Paper (1879 - 1963)
The Children's Newspaper (1919 - 1965)
Electric Company Magazine (1983 - 1988)
Heiress (1931 - 1949)
Kid City (1988 - 1996)
Look and Learn (1962 - 1982)
Sesame Street Magazine (1972 - 1994)
Stone Soup (1973 - 2020)

Ask a Librarian

Elizabeth Smart

Contact:

elizabeth_smart@byu.edu
5452 HBLL

801-422-4995

Subjects: Communications, Global Women's Studies, Humanities, Media Arts

Finding Tools

Find a Journal

Find a Book

Find a Database

Creating Bibliographies

Bibliographic utilities can help you gather, organize, and store your research. They can also create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.

EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Mendeley (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.
Zotero This link opens in a new window
A free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.