Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
These resources are available in the Music and Dance Library Reading Room (north end of HBLL 4th floor).
Dancers and choreographers : a selected bibliography by Covers ballet and modern dance as it developed across the US, England, Canada and Australia. Entries reference all English-language periodicals in which the dancer or choreographer appears. Birth and death dates are also given for each dancer when known, plus dates in which the dancer flourished.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1785 .X1 G47 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Film choreographers and dance directors : an illustrated biographical encyclopedia with a history and filmographies, 1893 through 1995 by As the credits roll at the end of a film, the names of the stars, producer, director, composer, lyricist and other production personnel are prominently displayed. But one of the most important crew members is often hard to find-the choreographer. Though they may have taught Fred and Ginger a few steps or put together a dance for a large cast of nondancers, the people who make the pictures move have often been overlooked by filmmakers and film historians alike. This is a comprehensive reference work to 970 choreographers who worked in nearly 3,500 films. For each, there is a biography providing date and place of birth (and death when appropriate), a description of their choreographic style and a listing of their stage, television, music video, nightclub and concert credits. This is followed by a listing of the movies they choreographed. A decade-by-decade history of dance on film and a filmography of choreographically important works in each decade are included.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1779 .B54 1996
Publication Date: 1997
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by With over 2,500 entries covering all aspects of dance, this unique dictionary is the only one of its kind available. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of dance in paperback, ranging from classical ballet to the cutting edge of modern dance. It provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the current diverse dance scene.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1585 .C72 2000
International Encyclopedia of Dance by With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1585 .I58 1998
Dictionnaire de la danse by La danse en Occident, de la Renaissance au XXe siècle En 4 000 entrées, ce dictionnaire rend compte de la diversité de l’aventure chorégraphique et fait une large place à la danse baroque et classique, ainsi qu’à la danse contemporaine et au modern jazz. Il prend également en compte la dimension cinématographique de la danse. Ce dictionnaire est composé de trois parties : - Le monde de la danse (chorégraphes, interprètes, compositeurs, librettistes, décorateurs, peintres et plasticiens, auteurs de traités, pédagogues, institutions et compagnies, réalisateurs de cinéma…) ; - Les œuvres chorégraphiques (à la scène et à l’écran) ; - Les mots de la danse (concepts esthétiques, danses de société, genres chorégraphiques, styles et courants, notations du mouvement, termes de métier…).
Call Number: MUS REF Quarto MD 1585 .D512 L4 1999
Index to Dance Periodicals by Annual index by subject to journal articles on dance published 1990-2001.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1582 .I53
Dance Research Guide and Catalog
Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources by A reference to dance information in both electronic and print form, covering all forms of dance as well as activities that include teaching, writing reviews and essays, or conducting studies in dance kinesiology. All types of sources are cited, including encyclopedias, film and video catalogs, manuals, indexes, serial publications, and sources for book and performance reviews. The focus is on English-language sources.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1594 .X1 B65 1994
This research guide is a great first step for research into many dance sub disciplines. It will provide you with citations to other important resources for a large variety of topics.
G.K. Hall Bibliographic Guide to Dance by Latest issue 2001. Issued in two vols. per year. The G.K. Hall Bibliographic Guide to Dance is a comprehensive annual subject bibliography representing items cataloged by the Dance Division of The New York Public Library. This publication is also available as part of the CD-ROM: Dance on disc. Issued as 25th- supplement to: New York Public Library. Dance Collection. Dictionary catalog of the Dance Collection.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1594 .X1 N482
Online Dance Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Other Useful (non-dance) Encyclopedias