These resources are available in the Music and Dance Library Reading Room (north end of HBLL 4th floor).
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by
With over 2,500 entries covering all aspects of dance, this unique dictionary is the only one of its kind available. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of dance in paperback, ranging from classical ballet to the cutting edge of modern dance. It provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the current diverse dance scene.
International Encyclopedia of Dance by
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Dictionnaire de la danse by
La danse en Occident, de la Renaissance au XXe siècle En 4 000 entrées, ce dictionnaire rend compte de la diversité de l’aventure chorégraphique et fait une large place à la danse baroque et classique, ainsi qu’à la danse contemporaine et au modern jazz. Il prend également en compte la dimension cinématographique de la danse. Ce dictionnaire est composé de trois parties : - Le monde de la danse (chorégraphes, interprètes, compositeurs, librettistes, décorateurs, peintres et plasticiens, auteurs de traités, pédagogues, institutions et compagnies, réalisateurs de cinéma…) ; - Les œuvres chorégraphiques (à la scène et à l’écran) ; - Les mots de la danse (concepts esthétiques, danses de société, genres chorégraphiques, styles et courants, notations du mouvement, termes de métier…).
Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources by
A reference to dance information in both electronic and print form, covering all forms of dance as well as activities that include teaching, writing reviews and essays, or conducting studies in dance kinesiology. All types of sources are cited, including encyclopedias, film and video catalogs, manuals, indexes, serial publications, and sources for book and performance reviews. The focus is on English-language sources.
This research guide is a great first step for research into many dance sub disciplines. It will provide you with citations to other important resources for a large variety of topics.