Subject Guides: English Literatures: Articles & Criticism

Periodical Indexes

Journal Articles and Book Chapters

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Literature Criticism Online LCO (Gale) This link opens in a new window Essays in literary criticism that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Lang. & Literature) This link opens in a new window An English Literature database. This database contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations from around the world on the topic of English literature. British, American and Commonwealth writings are represented. Includes full-text versions of 120 literature journals. Coverage is from 1920 to the present.
Historic Literary Criticism (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Historic Literary Criticism is a collection of over 20,000 historical contemporary reviews, essays and commentary related to more than 500 influential authors from the 17th to the early 20th century. The content comes from a range of sources such as contemporary periodicals as well as published and unpublished letters. The cornerstone of the collection comes from the renowned Critical Heritage series from Routledge.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Gender Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains archival material dating back to the mid 1970s.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ) This link opens in a new window Alternate title: International Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (IBZ). 1989+ Indexes international periodicals in all scholarly disciplines. Updated twice a year.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australia. Coverage: 1969-2002
Iter - Resources in European Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window Indexes citations of articles in over 600 journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window The IMB database comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Formerly International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

Newspapers

British Library Online Newspaper Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale) This link opens in a new window Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window Contains every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902 to 2005. Indexes over 250,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles from over 5,000 issues.
New York Times Archive (1851-2006) This link opens in a new window A ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the New York Times Archive (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
New York Review of Books This link opens in a new window New York Review of Books contains full text of book reviews from 1963 to the present.

Early Periodicals

American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text) This link opens in a new window A Historical American Periodicals database. This database includes digitized images of popular magazines and other rare periodicals from early American history up through the 1940s. Images are scanned from original pages and appear in their original layout with pictures and graphics. Coverage is from 1741 to 1941 and includes over 1000 different titles.
Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new window Covers 1830-1885. Many of America's greatest authors were first published in Godey's, the first successful American journal for women. Resource for the study of 19th Century American history and important social issues of the day. Covers social history, women's studies, textiles studies, material culture and literature. From History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives.

Modernist Journals Project From Brown University and University of Tulsa. The Modernist Journals Project is a multi-faceted project that aims to be a major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published. With magazines at its core, the MJP also offers a range of genres that extends to the digital publication of books directly connected to modernist periodicals and other supporting materials for periodical study.

Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects in victorian periodicals.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals This link opens in a new window Wellesley is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym.

Periodical Information

Find publication or subscription information about specific journals/periodicals.

MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1970+ Lists over 3700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics and folklore, supplying addresses, publication information and guidelines for submission. Updated annually.
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window Online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. Provides publication & subscription information, indexing and abstracting information, article submission & advertising guidelines, addresses, etc.

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Bibliography Managers

Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.