Comprehensive collection of full-text poetry, short stories, and supplemental content.
Short Story Index (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIndex to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. It contains over 76,500 entries including 1,350 full-text stories. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index. Search using WilsonWeb commands.
This site guides you in helping users find a novel, short story, or poem when they know only its plot or subject, or other textual information such as a character's name, a line of poetry, or a unique word or phrase.
A webpage maintained by Columbia University. This webpage contains the tenth edition of Familiar Quotations. The entire book has been converted to HTML format and is searchable by keyword and author.
Every playbook produced in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the beginning of printing through 1660
Play Index (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowPlay Index includes 40,000 plays published 1949 to the present. An invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays to match your production resources, Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more. *The record for each play provides: *Title and author of the play. *Descriptive annotation that summarizes the plot or dramatic action. *Number of acts and scenes. *Size and gender of the cast. *Number of sets, noting whether they are interior or exterior. *Notes on any dancing or music required. *Identification of plays suitable for children and young people.
Primary Sources
Primary Texts
Early English Books Online (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 titles published between 1475-1700. Combining the listings of the major short-title catalogs, EEBO includes publications in all subjects: literature, religion, government, medicine, science, and music. EEBO provides the facsimile of each work, so researchers can study these publications as they appeared: books printed by William Caxton, the earliest editions of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, The Book of Common Prayer (1549), The King James Bible (1611), Shakespeare's First Folio (1623), and works by Erasmus, Sir Isaac Newton, Bacon, Sir Thomas More, Galileo, as well as acts of Parliament, government documents on the early slave trade, and musical exercises by Henry Purcell.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - TextsThis link opens in a new window2,400 searchable and readable editions of EEBO documents that link immediately to the corresponding image files.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online). Gale's Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is based on the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC), and contains English-language and foreign-language titles published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. 150,000 printed works (some 33 million pages) covering the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution. Full-text searchable, ECCO enables library patrons to search for books and broadsides, Bibles, tracts and sermons, printed ephemera, and studies in every academic discipline: History and Geography, Social Science and Fine Arts, Medicine, Science and Technology, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy, and Law.
Eighteenth Century Journals PortalThis link opens in a new window18th Century Journals from Adam Matthew brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: 19th Century Collections Online (Gale). NCCO includes British Politics and Society; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.
Literature Online (LION)This link opens in a new windowIndexes the full-text of nine literary databases dealing with English poetry and drama, 18th century fiction, American and African poetry and Shakespeare. Also contains selected reference works and provides access to related literary websites.
The Carlyle Letters OnlineOver 10,000 letters between Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle, browsable by date, by recipient, and by subject.
Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThis online database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundacion San Telmo, which contains the world's largest collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. The collection was begun in 1986 and includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents. The Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges is based on this extensive collection and is the first database to provide access to a wide range of materials on Borges, including those that are rare or appeared in unindexed national and provincial newspapers and journals. Subjects cover a panorama of history, literature, philosophy, art, politics, linguistics, and culture.
Early American Literature
Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875This link opens in a new windowA collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography "American Fiction, 1851-1875." There are currently 2,839 titles available (2,887 volumes) including T.S. Arthur, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Alice Cary and David Ross Locke, a.k.a. Petrolium V. Nasby, one of Lincoln's favorites.
Early American FictionThis link opens in a new windowSearchable texts by Cooper, Hawthorne, Irving, and Poe (to name a few).
Periodical & News Archives
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThe newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media
Eighteenth Century Journals PortalThis link opens in a new window18th Century Journals from Adam Matthew brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.
American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text)This link opens in a new windowA Historical American Periodicals database. This database includes digitized images of popular magazines and other rare periodicals from early American history up through the 1940s. Images are scanned from original pages and appear in their original layout with pictures and graphics. Coverage is from 1741 to 1941 and includes over 1000 different titles.
HARPWEEKThis link opens in a new windowHarper’s Weekly newspaper covered the Civil War Era, 1857-1871. Prolific Latter-day Saint and Civil War subject content. Fully indexed, web access. Original displayed in image format.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAAI indexes and abstracts the entire journal contents of 42 American art periodicals published between 1840-1907. Includes articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, advertisements, exhibitions, and works of art.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times Archive (1851-2006)This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the New York Times Archive (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Periodical Source Index (PERSI)This link opens in a new windowPERSI is a comprehensive subject index to genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800. The collection also includes literature dating from the 1700s, although the material before 1800 is less complete.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1890-1982. Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Subjects covered include archaeology, astronomy, biographies, business, education, environment, fine arts, foreign affairs, history, journalism, literature, medicine, news, popular culture, religion, science, and travel.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowContains every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902 to 2005. Indexes over 250,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles from over 5,000 issues.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale)This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorksThis link opens in a new windowThe new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
ZoteroThis link opens in a new windowA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
