Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Literatures: 3. Dictionaries & Lexicons

British, Commonwealth, post-colonial, and ethnic literatures written in English

Dictionaries and Lexicons

Dictionaries in the Lee Library

English Dictionaries

some types in the Lee Library Reference collection . . .

Fall 2009

English Dictionaries

“unabridged” dictionaries

large, supposedly exhaustive, complete, lacking/omitting nothing: including versions by Random House, and the “classic” (1958) Webster’s 3rd ed. (“the cube”), etc.
 
historical dictionaries (dictionaries that show the changes in English)

  • Samuel Johnson’s dictionary from 1755 (perhaps the first English dictionary)
  • Webster’s 1828 ed. in facsimile (especially helpful for LDS Church history, US history, etc.)
  • The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) – 2nd ed. (1989), 20 vols. in print and online

 usage dictionaries

The Cambridge Guide to English Usage / Pam Peters. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004.   [Hum Ref. PE 1464 .P48 2004]
 
etymologies (word roots, origins)
The Word : The Dictionary that Reveals the Hebrew Source of English / Isaac E. Mozeson. New York, N.Y. : Shapolsky Publishers, c1989. [Hum. Ref. PE 1582 .H4 M69 1989]
 
dictionaries of eponyms (words coined from a proper name)
A New Dictionary of Eponyms / Morton S. Freeman. New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. [Hum. Ref. PE 1596 .F73 1997]
 
dictionaries of idioms (and clichés)

  • Cambridge Dictionary of American Idioms / Paul Heacock, editor in chief. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003. [Hum. Ref. PE 2839 .C36 2003]
  • The Penguin Dictionary of Clichés / Julia Cresswell. London ; New York : Penguin Books, 2000. [Hum. Ref. PE 1689 .C747x 2000]

slang dictionaries
The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English / Tom Dalzell (senior editor) and Terry Victor (editor).  London ; New York : Routledge, 2006. [Hum. Ref. PE 3721 .P3 2006]
 
dictionaries of regional varieties (including slang, and geographic, ethnic, situational idiom)
Words of the Vietnam War : the Slang, Jargon, Abbreviations, Acronyms, Nomenclature, Nicknames, Pseudonyms, Slogans, Specs, Euphemisms, Double-talk, Chants, and Names and Places of the Era of United States Involvement in Vietnam / by Gregory R. Clark. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1990. [Hum. Ref. PE 3727 .S7 C57 1990]
 
“world English” (English words/usage around the world)
World English : From Aloha to Zed / Robert Hendrickson. New York : Wiley, 2001. [Hum. Ref. PE 2751 .H46 2001]
 
 
and (don’t forget) literary dictionaries (that define English words according to a literary context)

(shelved with “regular” dictionaries in Humanities Reference)

Metaphors Dictionary / Elyse Sommer, executive editor ; Dorrie Weiss, associate editor. Edition statement: 1st ed. New York : Gale Research, c1995  [Hum. Ref. PE 1689 .M47 1995]
 
(shelved with “general” reference works in Humanities Reference)
A Derrida Dictionary / Niall Lucy. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2004. [Hum. Ref. B 2430 .D483 Z865 2004]
 
(shelved with “literature” reference in Humanities Reference)
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory / editor, Elizabeth Kowaleski-Wallace. New York : Garland, 1997. [Hum. Ref. PN 98 .W64 E53 1997]

 

Get Help

Humanities  Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

chat loading...