Reference Works (5^th floor, HBLL, Humanities Reference area) – encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guidebooks, etc. These books don’t check-out, but are good starting points. Check guides for electronic reference sources too. Here are a few examples of print sources:

• Timelines of the Arts and Literature.  New York: HarperCollins, 1994. [HUM REF NX 447.5 .B76 1994]
  •  Emma (1815)
  • Persuasion (1817
• The Atlas of Literature. London: De Agostini Editions, 1996, “Jane Austen’s Regency England” (pp. 66-69)
• Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB). Detroit: Gale, [ongoing]. [HUM REF PN 451 .A6], Austen appears in vol. 116.
• (Secondary-Tertiary Source) Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC). Detroit: Gale, [ongoing].  [HUM REF PN 761 .N5],     Austen appears in vols. 1,13,19, 33, 51, 81, 95, 119, 150.

Library Catalog (for check-out-able books, etc.) – when searching the library catalog, if you know the subject terms, use the “alphabetic search” for subjects, or try “advanced keyword” search:

• for a “subject search” in the BYU Library catalog (the best way to see everything the library has on an author, artists, composer, etc): click on the down arrow to get to Advanced Search, enter <Austen Jane> in top box, select to search in "subject"  (you might also want to check the author’s other primary work: type in <Austen Jane>, select “author/creator” for the field to search in)
• “browsing” call number for Jane Austen: PR 4030-4038.

Electronic Databases (for criticism, reviews, scholarly articles, book chapters, etc.)

Related Guides

Film Adaptations & Films About Jane Austen

Stephenie Meyer (1973- )

• Library of Congress (LC) call number as a science fiction and fantasy author: PZ 4 .M576 (level 5)
• Dewey Decimal (DDC) call number as a juvenile and young adult author: 813 575711 (on level 4 in the Juvenile & Young Adult collection)
• Use Google Scholar
• Try searching the Academic Search Ultimate database as well as MLA International Bibliography from this guide
• You can also use the “English Literatures” research guide and find reviews in periodicals and newspaper databases

Ursula Le Guin (1929- ) and more traditional literary scholarship

Reference Works (5^th floor, HBLL, Humanities Reference area) – dictionaries, handbooks, and guidebooks, etc. These books don’t check-out, but are good starting points.  Here are a few examples:

• Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB). Detroit: Gale, [ongoing]. [HUM REF PN 451 .A6]. (Le Guin appears in volumes  8, 52, 256 and 275.
• Contemporary Literature Criticism (CLC): Criticism of the Works of Today’s Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, Scriptwriters, and Other Creative Writers. Detroit: Gale, [ongoing]. [HUM REF PN 771 .C59] (Le Guin appears in volumes  8, 13, 22, 45, 71 and 13)
• Short Story Criticism (SSC): Criticism of the Works of Short Fiction Writers. Detroit: Gale, [ongoing]. [PN 3373 .S387x] (Le Guin appears in volumes 12 and 69.)

Library Catalog (for check-out-able books, etc.) – when searching the library catalog, if you know the subject terms, use the “alphabetic search” for subjects, or try “advanced keyword” search:

• for a “subject search” in the HBLL catalog (the best way to see everything the library has on an author, artists, composer, etc): click on the down arrow to get to Advanced Search, enter <Le Guin Ursula> or <Meyer Stephenie> in top box, select to search in "subject"  (you might also want to check the author’s other primary work: type in <Le Guin Ursula> or <Meyer Stephenie>, select “author/creator” for the field to search in)
• Library of Congress call number – quick & easy “browsing” number range – for Ursula Le Guin (b. 1929):
  • as an American author: PS 3562 .E42
  • as a science fiction and fantasy author: PZ 4 .L527and as a juvenile and young adult author, Le Guin also appears in a Dewey Decimal (DDC) call number: 813 L52j on level 4 (Juvenile & Young Adult collection on level 4)

• also, you can browse by “shelf-list” (from any book record, click on “Nearby Items on Shelf”)

Electronic Databases (articles, criticism, reviews, book chapters)

Related Guides