Librarian
Popular Resources
These are regularly used resources on the Psychology Guide.
NOTICE: On January 7th EBSCO rolled out a complete redesign of their database interface. As a result, things in APA PsycInfo (and all other EBSCO databases) will look completely different and advanced search features will be accessed in different ways. Please email, call, or visit with a librarian for help in navigating these changes.
-
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window PsycINFO searches millions of abstracts across scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. It searches information about psychological concepts across the fields of anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, psychiatry, psychology, sociology, and technology.
-
MEDLINE (PUBMED) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. Currently, citations from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 40 languages are added to PubMed 7 days a week.
-
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) searches millions of records across all aspects of education, including educational topics relevant to psychology. You will often find links to full-text documents.
-
Psychiatry Online (Includes DSM-5-TR) This link opens in a new window Psychiatry online allows those interested in mental health to search psychiatric information across textbooks, self-assessment tools, news sources, practice guidelines, and more. You can access the latest Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Additionally, you can find full text articles from premier peer-reviewed journals published by American Psychiatric Publishing.
-
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.
How to Use this Guide
The Psychology Guide helps you find academic resources and be more efficient in your research and writing. Each tab specializes on a particular area:
- Find Articles: find scholarly journal articles and background information
- Find Books: find books (both print and e-books)
- Find Research Methods: find instructional books and videos about quantitative and qualitative methods.
- Find Tests & Measures: find tests and measures in the social sciences
- Find Statistics: find existing data sets and statistics
- Find Journal Metrics: find information relevant to journal publications such as impact factors and citation counts
- Find Media: find media resources about psychology generally and psychological disorders, diagnoses, and therapy specifically
- APA Style: find resources that explain APA formatting.
Fall 2025 Psych Book Club
Join other psychology majors at the end of the month (Wednesday, October 29th, 4-5pm) in the library (2740 HBLL) for our Fall 2025 book club! This semester we are discussing Man's Search for Meaning, by Viktor Frankl. Listen to the audiobook for free through the BYU Library on the Libby app. Look for the book cover above for an audiobook that is available now! Details and registration here.
Feedback Welcome
Subject guides are works in progress.
If you want information added or clarified on this guide, please contact me.
Ask for Help
Library/Research FAQ
Ask your HBLL or research related questions here.