Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedia entries are both broad and deep, presented in an authoritative, interdisciplinary, and accessible way. Dictionary definitions are a useful first step into understanding potentially complex research terms. Reference resources are invaluable assets to researchers anywhere in the world, and provide students with the perfect place to develop their understanding of methods, and start their research.
Books
Books continue to be a leading resource across the spectrum of academic disciplines. Here you will find comprehensive texts on subjects ranging from quantitative data analysis, to accounts of undertaking dangerous fieldwork. Our online books come in five formats. Books are full digital versions of print text, as you would expect to find in an academic library. Handbooks provide comprehensive coverage of specific subjects, such as online research methods. Little Blue Books provide guidance and teaching for qualitative research methods, whilst Little Green Books provide the same for quantitative research methods. These are in-depth guides on specific research methods. Finally, Major Works are volumes of curated book and journal content that address particular methods of research.
Videos
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers and more.
Methods Map
This visualization demonstrates how methods are related and connects users to relevant content.
Quantitative Methods
Little Green Books, SAGE’s popular Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, provides short and accessible texts on all kinds of quantitative methods. Providing clear statistical explanations, straightforward empirical examples, and ready-to-use procedures these supplementary texts are appropriate for the individual researcher, and any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced statistics course across the spectrum of academic disciplines. Want to learn about Analysis of Variance? We have a Little Green Book for that! Our brief volumes address a spectrum of advanced quantitative topics including Regression, Models, Data Analysis, Experimental Design, Measurement, Survey Data, and more.
Qualitative Methods
Little Blue Books, SAGE’s popular Qualitative Research Methods series, provides short and accessible texts on all kinds of qualitative methods. Providing clear explanations, and commentary on both theoretical and practical considerations in the implementation of qualitative research. These supplementary texts are appropriate for the individual researcher, and any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced qualitative methods course across the spectrum of academic disciplines. Want to know more about researching drug-related violence? Try a search in our Little Blue Book Dangerous Fieldwork. Our brief volumes address a full range of advanced qualitative topics including writing up qualitative research, participatory action research, feminist fieldwork analysis, discourse analysis, and ethnography.
Which Stats Test
Answer a handful of multiple-choice questions to see which statistical method is best for your data.
Practice Datasets
Find practice datasets to help you master qualitative and quantitative data analysis.
Research Cases
Choose from hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects.
Research Podcasts
Looking to hear how leading social scientists grapple with methodological issues in their research? Podcasts present in-depth discussions which explore stories from the field, the challenges of social science research, and how we can understand the social world. Download the podcasts to listen on the go, or read along with podcast transcripts.
Project Planner
This tool is designed to guide you through your research project. First, think about what stage you're at in your research. If you've already gotten started, click on the stage below that best describes where you are. If you're just starting out, it might be helpful to read more about why we do research before getting started.
