Subject Guides: Psychology: Find Articles

Accessing the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual

Psychiatry Online (Includes DSM-5-TR) This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry Online provides full-text access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM). Go to the DSM Library tab in the upper left corner. You will see an option for the DSM-5 and for DSM Legacy, which has full text access to all previous editions.

Organizing References

RefWorks is a reference management application that allows you to organize your sources and create bibliographies for research projects.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window This web-based bibliography and database manager allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. RefWorks lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Users can generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs. If this is your first time using RefWorks, you will need to sign up for an individual account by creating a personalized login name and password.

Primate Research

Psych 387 students can search many of the databases listed in the center column (e.g., APA PsycInfo, PubMed (MEDLINE), Web of Science) to find research about primates. The following link goes to an archived primate database that was updated through 2018.

PrimateLit (Archive) The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to 2018 and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas.

Ask for Help

Psychology Relevant Databases

It is useful to search more than one database when locating scholarly sources. Psychology relevant databases are organized below into various categories for convenience.

Most Used Psychology Database

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window APA PsycINFO searches millions of abstracts across scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. It searches information about psychological concepts across the fields of anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, psychiatry, psychology, sociology, and technology.

Databases that Provide Times Cited Information

Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly.
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.

Social Science Databases

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Family & Society Studies Worldwide covers journal articles and books dealing with family studies issues.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Social Services Abstracts covers current research focused on social work, social welfare, social policy, human services, and community development. You will find information on journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts covers articles in sociology and related fields.

Medical Databases

MEDLINE (PUBMED) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. Currently, citations from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 40 languages are added to PubMed 7 days a week.
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase provides unparalleled coverage of the biomedical literature, with 32 million+ records from almost 8,300 currently published journals. Embase includes six million+ records and 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Also, Embase Classic provides access to data going back to 1947.
CINAHL (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window CINAHL covers scholarly journals in nursing and health sciences disciplines. It offers records to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database.
For educational use only.

Education Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) searches millions of records across all aspects of education, including educational topics relevant to psychology. You will often find links to full-text documents.
Education Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1983+ Indexes and abstracts a core group of 430 international periodicals, yearbooks, and selected books in education. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996. Search using WilsonWeb commands.

Open Access Articles

These databases provide access to articles and other academic resources for free. This allows anyone to use these resources even when away from campus or after graduation.

Thesis Commons Thesis Commons is a free, open repository for author-deposited theses and dissertations from any area of scholarship.
Cambridge University Press: Open Access Cambridge Open Access serves authors and the wider community by publishing high-quality, peer-reviewed OA content. We support and promote all forms of OA that are financially sustainable.
ScienceDirect Open Access This database features a list of scientific journals and books that are available for open access.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.

Background Information

Use the following resources to find reference, encyclopedia, and general articles on behavioral science topics.

APA Dictionary Look up definitions of key psychological concepts.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other source. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window GVRL searches reference materials, like handbooks and encyclopedias, that provide overviews of many topics within most academic disciplines.
Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window The complete texts of the prestigious Oxford Handbooks in Business and Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion now available online. Extensive links make the online Handbooks easy to navigate making these valuable reference resources more easily discoverable, accessible and searchable.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world’s biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. Also includes access to Oxford Digital Reference, a collection of 17 ebooks covering The Renaissance, Dance, Global Change, The Reformation, Byzantium, Theatre and Performance, The Enlightenment, Economic History, Evolution, Ancient Egypt, Food and Drink in America, The Middle Ages, American Literature, Latinos and Latinas in the United States, British Literature, Linguistics, and Children’s Literature.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier covers many disciplines and searches thousands of journal titles that often offer the full text of articles.

Hot Topic Resources

The following databases provide thorough examinations about both sides of contemporary, highly debated issues (e.g., gun control, abortion).

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. OVIC's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets -- and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus reference series of statistics, government data, information on legislation and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher provides coverage of current news topics that range from social issues to environment, government, health, education, science, and technology. Articles are written by experienced journalists and may include information on historical background, chronology, and pros/cons. You'll also find a "hot topics" section that provides overviews of subjects particularly interesting to students.