Subject Guides: Psychology: Find Books

Organizing References

RefWorks is a reference management application that allows you to organize your sources and create bibliographies for research projects.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window This web-based bibliography and database manager allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. RefWorks lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Users can generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs. If this is your first time using RefWorks, you will need to sign up for an individual account by creating a personalized login name and password.

Ask for Help

Find Books and EBooks at the HBLL

Books are a good source for background information or an in-depth discussion on a particular topic.

Most students search for books using the HBLL website's main page. From here, a search can be entered into the search bar that appears at the top-center of the page.

In order to limit your search to either print, eBooks, or both, once a search is made the following boxes on the left-hand side of the page (indicated by black rectangles in the picture below) can be checked to restrict the search results.

Alternatively, searches can be made using BYU's online catalog webpage which features more specific advanced search functions and up to date records of all new purchases in the collection.

Other Ways to Find Books

Search EBook Collections

You can continue your search using one of the various eBook databases BYU has access that are not reflected in searches on the library website. The description icon to the right of each link explains what kind of eBooks are available on each database.

APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window PsycBOOKS includes full text books from APA publications and archival works from other publishers, chapters from authored volumes and the Encyclopedia of Psychology. Items in PsycBOOK are searchable through the Lee Library Catalog and in PsycINFO.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 books and maps, with concentrations in business and economics, computers and technology, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
EBSCO Electronic Books This link opens in a new window EBSCO's ebook collection contains over 100,000 ebooks on a wide variety of subjects.
Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Alternate title: ScienceDirect. Science Direct is the world’s largest electronic collection of science, technology, and medicine full-text and bibliographic information.

Google Book Search Google Book Search searches a growing "database" of digitized books with access to Full Text View, Sample Page View, and Snippet Views, depending on the title.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Springer publishes millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. The library doesn’t subscribe to everything on Springer so leave the "Include Preview-Only content" unchecked in order to see content you can access.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window A leading international resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly content.

If you are not able to find your desired material in BYU's collections, here are a few options to try to get access through other libraries.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window Search catalogs of other libraries. You can search specific libraries (academic or public) or national consortia of libraries such as Worldcat.

Interlibrary Loan Once you identify books from other libraries, you can order them online, through Interlibrary Loan Services. Fill out an online request for the materials, and be sure to allow enough time for arrival (about a week).

Search Open Access Textbooks

Directory of Open Access Books DOAB is a discovery service for peer reviewed open access books and book publishers that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.
OpenStax College OpenStax is a service through Rice University that publishes peer-reviewed and openly accessible college textbooks that are free online and low cost in print.
Open Textbook Library Open Textbook Library hosts free online textbooks that are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted.
Textbook Equity Textbook Equity hosts college-level textbooks are currently or were recently used in U.S. colleges and universities for free use and download.

New Psychology Books at the Lee Library

Graduate Study in Psychology

The yearly Graduate Study in Psychology reference book published by the APA is now available for purchase digitally. This resource provides admissions information for post-graduate psychology programs in the U.S. and Canada.

Copies from previous years can be browsed physically in the library, although information from previous years has most likely changed.