Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Creating Bibliographies

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Betsy Hopkins
Contact:
betsy_hopkins@byu.edu
2317 HBLL and 533 KMBL
801-422-6777

RefWorks

Image result for refworks logo

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service that allows you to build bibliographies and manage citations. 

Learn to Use RefWorks in 20 Minutes

More: New RefWorks YouTube Channel

RefWorks: Selecting the Correct APA Style for References

RefWorks is a reference management application that allows you to organize your sources and create bibliographies for research projects.

To create a bibliography, check the box next to the sources you want to include. Then click the Create Bibliography button and select "Create Bibliography." Click on the drop down menu under "Bibliography from Selected references." Find the drop down menu that says "Institutional Styles." Select the one that says "(BYU Recommended) APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: https://doi.org." You can click on the start next to the style so that it will appear in your favorites list later. Here is a screen shot of what the drop down menu looks like:

 

RefWorks will use the metadata for each source to create a bibliography in the selected style. An article citation in the right APA 7 style should look like the following:

If the doi portion looks something like this:
https://doi-org.erl.lib.byu.edu/10.1007/s10578-014-0488-9
You will need to take the BYU portion out of it so it looks like this: 
https://doi.org/10.1007/s10578-014-0488-9

It's convenient to use RefWorks to start your references page, but you always need double check for style accuracy.

EndNote (desktop version)

EndNote icon

EndNote  is a bibliographic management software package available for download through BYU's Office of Information Technology. The terms of use state "This software is to be installed on computers for University purposes. It may also be installed on personal computers including laptops and home computers." 

To download: OIT Software Distribution, then search for EndNote

EndNote Training

EndNote Web

Image result for endnote web logo

EndNote Web is the web-accessible version of the desktop EndNote program.  It is available to everyone on campus.  You can use it on its own or in coordination with the desktop version. 

EndNote Training