Subject Guides: Nursing: For Graduate Students

Your Librarian

Betsy Hopkins

Email Me

Contact:

betsy_hopkins@byu.edu
2317 HBLL and 561 KMBL

801-422-6777

Free Primary Care Resources

Merck Manual for the Professional The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
Care That Fits Shared Decision Making Tools A set of decision making tools for common conditions to be used by provider and patient to help determine the best course of action.
US Preventive Services Task Force Provides evidence-based recommendations for preventive services such as screenings, behavioral counseling, and preventive medications.
Cochrane Reviews (Abstracts Only) Abstracts and plain language summaries of Cochrane reviews are available free of charge.

Drug Information

epocrates The free version of epocrates includes drug information, interaction check, and pill ID.
DailyMed

Laboratory Tests

Mayo Clinic Laboratories Test Catalog Provides a variety of information, including specimen and clinical, for laboratory tests.
ARUP Consult ARUP Consult® is a laboratory test selection support tool with more than 2,000 lab tests categorized into disease-related topics and algorithms.

Study Instruments

Search here to find questionnaires and other instruments for your research.

PsycTESTS (EBSCO) PsycTESTS provides full-text access to thousands of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Permission and use information is included with each record.

Health & Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides information about unpublished behavioral tests and measurement instruments.

ETS Test Collection Database Tests from the Educational Testing Service. BYU has microfiche copies of some of these tests.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Mental Measurements Yearbook provides comprehensive guides to over 2,000 published testing instruments. Tests in Print provides information about commercially available tests that are currently in print in English.

Publishing Resources

Journal selection tools

Think Check Submit
This international initiative will help you identify trusted journals for your research.
Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)
Enter your title/abstract or keywords to JANE to identify possible journals to publish in.
Journal Guide
Journal Guide will suggest journals to publish in and provide aggregated data about those journals.

Journal directories

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Use Ulrichsweb to identify and learn about journals to publish in. Includes where the journal is indexed and whether it is peer reviewed.
Cabell's Directories This link opens in a new window
Look in Cabell's for more information about journals: acceptance rates, altmetrics, submission requirements, and more. Note that coverage for nursing journals is limited.

Journal metrics

For more information on metrics, please see the Research Metrics guide.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find impact factors and other statistical measures for over 12,000 journals in science, social science, and art and humanities.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Search the "Sources" section of Scopus for CiteScore metrics.

Journals with potential issues

Jeffrey Beall, a now-retired academic librarian, used the term "predatory" to describe open access journals and publishers who charged authors fees to publish without offering high quality peer review and other editorial services. He also created a list of potential predatory journals. Though his list was controversial and taken down in 2017, others have continued his work.

Beall's List
This version is maintained by a postdoctoral researcher in Europe, and provides both the original Beall's list and an update.

Quick Links

BYU College of Nursing
Interlibrary Loan
BYU Electronic Theses and Dissertations A searchable database of the electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies.
BYU ScholarsArchive Submission Deposit your scholarly paper here to make it available to researchers worldwide.

Databases of Clinical Information

UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based, peer reviewed database of clinical information.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive, clinical knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice.

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses All of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan—well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs.

VisualDx This link opens in a new window VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
StatPearls This link opens in a new window An expansive array of point-of-care and educational activities for health professionals in hospital, ambulatory, and community-based settings.

Ebooks

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses All of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan—well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs.

Style Manuals

AMA Manual of Style This link opens in a new window The AMA Manual of Style Online contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.