Subject Guides: Company & Finance: Articles & News

Free Access: The New York Times Website

NEW in 2024! Direct access to The New York Times online. Follow these simple instructions to create an account at nytimes.com.

Current News

Historical News Archives

Wall Street Journal (Historical) This link opens in a new window A ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1889 and has an 18 year moving wall. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Economist (Historical) This link opens in a new window The Economist Historical Archive from Gale delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2010.
Financial Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window The Financial Times Historical Archive from Gale delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.

Search Tips

Be aware of keywords and subject terms used in articles on your topic and add them to your search.
Search in multiple locations/databases to ensure you get the full picture on your topic.
Save time by searching multiple databases at once. Within any EBSCO database select "Choose Databases" to add.

Audio

AEA Research Highlights Podcast Interviews with economists on their current research, by the American Economic Association.
Bloomberg Odd Lots Podcast Learn about current events and trends in economics and finance.

Business Information

These are the two main sources for business information. They include peer-reviewed articles, industry reports, magazines, and news on a range of business topics.

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Great for scholarly and/or interdisciplinary research. Allows for searching multiple databases at once. Includes Harvard Business Review.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Great for more general research and finding many perspectives on a topic. Has excellent news and trade publication coverage.

News, Magazine, Industry & Trade Resources

Note: the databases for articles above also include industry, magazine, and news articles.

Factiva This link opens in a new window Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Conference Board This link opens in a new window Business Knowledge Research. Provides full-text research reports from the Conference Board on the latest issues in business management and on United States and global economics. It covers topics such as business outlook, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, human resource management, productivity, economic indicators and analysis/forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions. Search listings include abstracts of items.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Mintel This link opens in a new window Reports on consumer markets and trends. Segmentation, branding, positioning, and psychographics. Rich insight into consumer behavior and lifestyles. Coverage is deepest for the U.S.

Trends and "Hot Topics" Resources

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. OVIC's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets -- and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus reference series of statistics, government data, information on legislation and more.

Topics & Trends Find recent magazine, new, and blog articles on finance and related business areas.

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window A source for videos including documentaries on current events and trends.
Public performance rights are included.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. Search or browse by topic and/or issue; 1991-present.
Statista This link opens in a new window An aggregator of statistics on almost any topic.

Finance Librarian

Maggie Marchant

Email Me

Contact:

1212 HBLL

(801) 422-3924

Subjects: Business & Economics

Citing & Organization

RefWorks This link opens in a new window The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.

Purdue OWL Helpful information on citation and format styles.

The Concise APA Handbook 7th edition
Publication Date: 2020

Company & Finance: Articles & News