Subject Guides: Company & Finance: Real Estate

NEW: Listing Data

ATTOM This link opens in a new window
Real estate listings and sales. Price, tax, and physical description data available from Multiple Listing Service (MLS) sales in the United States.

Economic Outlook

United States

U.S. Economic Indicators Current and time series data on key economic indicators in the United States. Provided by the Census Bureau.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) FRED provides over 40,000 economic times series, from unemployment to interest rates to population and housing. Includes mapping and graphing tools, mobile apps and an add-in for Excel.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Great source for data, statistics, and reports on the state of employment and industries in the US.
Economic Report of the President Overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

Utah

Economic Report to the Govenor An excellent source for information and statistics on Utah's economy.
Gardner Policy Institute Reports and data on Utah economics, demographics, and policy. Formerly the Bureau of Economic and Business Research (BEBR). Hosted at the University of Utah.
Utah Department of Workforce Services Provides data on employment, labor force, and industry indicators in Utah.
Utah State Treasurer Economic Information Find quick stats and reports on the state and outlook of Utah's economy.

Industry Research

Ivory-Boyer Construction Database Dataset on the amount, type, and value for both residential and non-residential construction in Utah since 1994.

IBIS World This link opens in a new window Reports on over 1,000 industries: size, barriers to entry, segmentation, cost structures, etc.
For educational use only. Content may not be disclosed or resold to outside companies.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window Find background, financial, square footage, and other information on business locations, companies, and industries.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window Provides data on companies, industries, and demographics by geographic region.

REIT Analysis

Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window Provides information, data, and analysis of stocks and funds.
For personal, non-commercial use only.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a platform for datasets from CRSP, COMPUSTAT, IBES, TAQ, Execucomp, KLD, Bureau van Dijk, Sustainalytics, and more. Data includes security prices, trading volumes, indices, financial statements, executive compensation, bond prices, interest rates, options data, macroeconomic time series, and mutual fund and stock ownership information. After entering an email address with a byu extension, please use the lib.byu.edu link in the day pass email to gain access.

Bloomberg Terminal Real-time and historical market data for stocks, bonds, currencies, etc. You can reserve the library's terminal, which is near the Social Sciences desk on the first floor.

J.P. Morgan Research (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries

Background Research

Start your research or fill in gaps in your understanding by looking at news, industry reports, and articles on the topic.

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window Features journals, conference proceedings, working papers, trade publications, and analyst and industry reports.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Global news and business information service. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.

Market & Consumer Research

The United States census is a rich source of information on potential customers and the market demand for goods, services, and real estate. You can specify geographic locations down to zip code level to learn about the market for very specific locations.

U.S. Census Data Data from Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), and Economic Census. Includes the ability to build custom tabulations and thematic maps.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window User-friendly interface for accessing census data. Includes options to create maps and reports.

IPUMS USA Access microdata from the US Census (1790-2010) and American Community Survey (2000-on).

Discover information about potential consumer and business markets through surveys and analysis and comparison properties, which also often have the option of limiting to a specific geographic region.

Simmons Insight This link opens in a new window Detailed consumer survey data with cross-tab features to compare factors. Watch a tutorial
May NOT be used for commercial use, consulting, or outside research projects.
Mintel This link opens in a new window Reports on consumer markets and trends. Segmentation, branding, positioning, and psychographics. Rich insight into consumer behavior and lifestyles. Coverage is deepest for the U.S.

Business and Industry Trends Find data on trends in the US economy, businesses, consumers, and housing since 1959.
LoopNet Find information and offer amounts for various types of commercial real estate.

Professional Organizations & Research Centers

Professional and research organizations are a great source for learning about an industry and finding reports and data.

Emerging Trends in Real Estate Annual report from PwC and the Urban Land Institute on trends in real estate development and finance.
National Association of Realtors Find statistics, reports, and data on the residential housing and real estate industry.
National Association of REITs Find background information, data, and news on the REIT industry.
Center for Real Estate (MIT) This research center at MIT is a great place to find up-to-date research and working papers on real estate finance.
Joint Center for Housing Studies (Harvard) Find recent research and reports on the residential aspect of real estate.

Finance Librarian

Maggie Marchant

Email Me

Contact:

1212 HBLL

(801) 422-3924

Subjects: Business & Economics