Subject Guides: Experience Design & Management: Marketing and Business Resources

Sports Marketing

Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) This link opens in a new window SMA, a service of SBRnet, provides market research and participation rates for sports and recreation. Includes industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports, directories, and news.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1975+ SPORTDiscus is a unique resource for both practical and research literature on sports, physical fitness and physical education topics. Records cover sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and research literature for the social and psychological aspects of sport and leisure, including play, games and dance.
Euromonitor International Passport This link opens in a new window Alternate title: GMID. An integrated on-line business information system providing key business intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. Excellent for market research, international business case studies, scenario planning and comparative analysis. Formerly known as Global Market Information Database (GMID).
For research or private study for academic purposes only. Only students, faculty, and staff may access.

Statistics & Demographics

Statista This link opens in a new window
An aggregator of statistics on almost any topic.

Pew Research Center
An independent think tank with polling and research on demographic, social, and tech trends.
OlympStats
This site is maintained by a group of dedicated Olympic historians and statisticians, all of them members of the International Society of Olympic Historians (ISOH)

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

Consumer Surveys

Gallup Poll and Archive This link opens in a new window This is the official Gallup Poll site, conducted by the Gallup organization, and which includes a variety of polling data but not their entire poll archive. May contain selected political polls or popularity/approval ratings.

Marketing & Industry Resources

BizMiner This link opens in a new window BizMiner is a leading online provider of industry financial analysis and market research.
For non-commercial use only.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window Data about advertising, media, and consumer behavior on the internet and mobile devices.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
An annual publication that profiles important marketing campaigns of the 20th century.

Euromonitor International Passport This link opens in a new window Alternate title: GMID. An integrated on-line business information system providing key business intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. Excellent for market research, international business case studies, scenario planning and comparative analysis. Formerly known as Global Market Information Database (GMID).
For research or private study for academic purposes only. Only students, faculty, and staff may access.
Frost and Sullivan This link opens in a new window In-depth industry and market research covering aerospace, transportation, chemicals, materials, food, electronics, energy, environment, construction, healthcare, biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, information technology, and communications.
IBIS World This link opens in a new window Reports on over 1,000 industries: size, barriers to entry, segmentation, cost structures, etc.
For educational use only. Content may not be disclosed or resold to outside companies.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window From Aerospace and Automotive to Media, Mining and Textiles, MarketLine covers every company in every major industry in every major marketplace, worldwide.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel Global Consumer Training video available at https://youtu.be/-aLspjq2g-o
RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window RKMA publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks
Simmons Insight This link opens in a new window Detailed consumer survey data. Where else can you cross-tabulate age, media consumption, political viewpoints, and the frequency of Snickers bar consumption? Tutorial for this database can be viewed at https://www.youtube.com/user/iLearningServices/search?query=simmons. *May NOT be used for commercial use, consulting, or outside research projects.
May NOT be used for commercial use, consulting, or outside research projects.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Our comprehensive research report database puts valuable business information right into students' hands. You'll get market intelligence on consumer demographics, market size and growth trends, industry forces and structure, product trends, competitive environment analysis, and company profiles.
Statista This link opens in a new window An aggregator of statistics on almost any topic.
WARC This link opens in a new window WARC is where real-world advertising and marketing practice meets theory. WARC features trends, case studies, and best practices in both traditional and digital media.

Company Profiles & Financials

Audit Analytics This link opens in a new window Audit Analytics provides detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms in the US. The module Audit and Compliance and Corporate and Legal module covers current or past auditor firms, auditor changes, fees, opinions, SOX 302 disclosure controls, SOX 404 internal controls, legal cases, director and officer changes, company history, share price details, income statement and compliance difficulties. The Corporate and Legal module is an integrated collection of databases focused on actions, disclosures and correspondence by companies, advisers, regulators and investors. It includes five data sets: SEC Comment Letters, bankruptcies, litigation, shareholder activism and tax footnotes.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with DandB's private company database, Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public US and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Mergent offers a wealth of detail on US and International public companies including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window From Aerospace and Automotive to Media, Mining and Textiles, MarketLine covers every company in every major industry in every major marketplace, worldwide.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of more than a centurys worth of global corporate and industry related documents. This collection contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries.
Mergent Key Business Ratios (KBR) This link opens in a new window Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window Must first create a login using a byu.net email address. A byu.net email alias can be created at https://my.byu.edu under Communication using the Email Alias Manager. Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle. For educational use at BYU only.
For educational use only.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a platform for datasets from CRSP, COMPUSTAT, IBES, TAQ, Execucomp, KLD, Bureau van Dijk, Sustainalytics, and more. Data includes security prices, trading volumes, indices, financial statements, executive compensation, bond prices, interest rates, options data, macroeconomic time series, and mutual fund and stock ownership information. After entering an email address with a byu extension, please use the lib.byu.edu link in the day pass email to gain access.

EDGAR From the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Includes annual reports, quarterly reports, balance sheet, income statement, security activity and analysis and much more

Additional Marketing Resources

For additional Marketing and Business resources, see the library's Marketing & industry Research Guide

contact

Jessica Tuwun

Email Me

Contact:

1210 HBLL

(801) 422-3850

Experience Design & Management: Marketing and Business Resources

Simmons video tutorial

Sports Marketing

Statistics & Demographics

Consumer Surveys

Marketing & Industry Resources

Company Profiles & Financials

Additional Marketing Resources

contact